We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Great Place - Very clean, modern and comfortable. Free wifi a bonus!

Good selection of restaurants next door in SAFE walking distance with great food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    115
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Room was large with large beds clean sheets and towels and loads of electric sockets. Shower was hot - had to turn heat down. Short walk to City centre but seemed long way when carrying heavy bags. Breakfast was great with cereal, cooked food , croissants etc. Only thing to watch is the internet cafe was expensive and the cost shown on the screen was only a fraction of the actual price so watch your time if using it. They did tell me the price beforehand but it did seem a lot when I came to pay. Otherwise everything was fine felt safe and all staff very pleasant. Tea/coffee making facilty in room.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed one night with my girlfriends 6 year old daughter, who was added as a last minute due to a change in plans. The hotel made sure I got a twin instead of a single or double, and check in was simple - tho there was a bit of a wait - not the hotels fault the guy in front was having difficutly paying with his cards. (I did keep an eye to see if they would start huffing - but they were very professional and understanding).

Really the only thing I can fault with this hotel is it's name. It gives the impression you'll be staying in a log cabin, surrounded by wildlife. It should be called something like Highlife as it's actually a ultramodern, city/business, style hotel with spacious rooms, large HOT powershowers, free wifi that works most of the time. Some of the rooms (including mine) do over look a park - giving a country feel. For a city location it's fairly quiet. The main requirements for me in this type of hotel are : Can you hear traffic - NO, can you hear other guests coming and going - NO, can you stay cool - YES, can you get to the city quickly - YES. Can you get to restaurants and shops easily - YES. So a Pass. I'll write a review of the Fairview Restaurant separately! :-(

Actually - I do have one little complaint - when you are paying circa £100 a night for a room, why do they insist on giving you a thimble for a juice glass? (Rant over). The rest of breakfast was nice with a selection of cerals, breads and fruits available and a chef who'll knock you up an omlette - make sure you include chilli ;-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed at the Country Lodge on a recent trip. I found it clean and quiet for a very reasonable price. It was nice to have the breakfast included in the price. Staff were approachable. Rooms were spacious with a good walk-in shower. Large work-top with plenty of power point. Wi-Fi internet access was free, reception will provide user id and password. There is a drinks and snacks vending machine just off the lobby.
Minor things that disappointed me were, the TVs are small 14" ones which are stuck on a shelf and you have to wave the remote around to get the TV to change channel. There are no newspapers in the hotel, so you have to go to the Fairview next door just to get a paper. Check out is 10am which leaves a very long wait if your flight out is 11pm at night. They would only give me an extra hour for late check-out. I was told the bar closes at 10pm, so I would usually go out somewhere else for a drink.
As I say these are minor issues compared to the saving on cost of a good clean room with breakfast and internet access..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hey there,
We stayed there on a few occasions last year as a base from which to do trips from/to Rwanda, Masaii Mara and Tanzania.
It was a fantastic place to come to after these trips where we had all the modern comforts and were close to the shops etc we required for the next stage of journey. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The breakfast fantastic. Check out the hotel next door for lunch and dinner. What a treat! The area is extremely secure. Make sure you do not get a room above the Gym as the early morning treadmillers can do your head in!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The Country Lodge was our hub hotel in Nairobi & we spent several nights there with days apart.
The staff welcomed us wonderfully whenever we returned.
The rooms were spotlessly clean & quiet considering we were only minutes from the centre of Nairobi. Ceiling fan was a tad noisy, so did not use during the night.
Bathroom was a delight, proving that it is possible to have hot showers & toilets that work.
There a a few facilities - mini gym, small garden & restaurant for breakfast only.
Breakfast was more than adequate & served food you would recognise! Believe me this was important compared to some places we stayed.
The Fairview sister hotel served good meals for lunch & dinner & was not too expensive. Also, it is possible to use the pool there, too.
All in all we enjoyed our stays in the Country Lodge & would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Thanks for your feedback compliments and for recommending us.

Clarification on the Fairview hotel pool: It is strictly for Fairview residents and Country Lodge guests are not allowed to use the pool at Fairview (not even for a fee). Country Lodge will consider a pool in future.

Daniel
Director
Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

OK, let's start with the one big complaint. I printed a boarding pass in the "business centre" after being told it would be 50/= (shillings). I had to wait for them to load the printer paper and some other glitches, and the whole operation took four minutes. They charged me for the four minutes, bringing the bill for one piece of lousy paper to 110/=. That's not just outrageous, it's insane.

Next, the one little complaint, then we'll move on to the good stuff. The fitness center is lame. A treadmill, an elliptical (they have two rooms, each with one of these) and very little else. At least invest in a few dumbells.

That said, this is a nicely-situated place with a very good price for what you get and where you are. The WiFi was outstanding, they have lots of access points and you pick the one with the strongest signal and you're in business. WiFi is included in the price of the room, and it's very low-BS -- unlike many US hotels where you have to jump through a bunch of stupid hoops just to connect. The username / PW is straightforward and will work with any operating system.

The room was clean and spacious (I stayed in the lowest "economy" rate room.) The shower was the best hotel shower I've ever seen -- a GREAT high-flow nozzle. Maybe not the most ecologically responsible thing considering it's Africa, but I still loved it.

There is a squadron of taxi drivers that hangs out right outside the door. They're not obnoxious or high-pressure, or anything, but they are there if you need them. Negotiate all prices in advance. DO NOT WALK ANYWHERE AFTER DARK IN THIS AREA, as there are wild dogs that will mess you up real bad. No joke. Oh, yeah, and Uhuru Park (ironically enough) is full of vicious criminal gangs after dark. Just take a taxi.

Breakfast (included in the price of the room) was the best hotel spread I've seen in Africa, not counting the ritzy safari places in South Africa. It was really excellent.

Nairobi's expensive, and that's all there is to it. You can spend three times the $$$ for the same room at the Fairview next door, or you can get a nice place for a reasonable value at the Country Lodge next door. I know where I'm going when I return to Nairobi.

Only four stars because I have a very high bar for five stars ... but for "value" this is the best you're going to do in central Nairobi!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thanks for your feedback and compliments.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the printing of your boarding pass. The extra charge should not have escalated to you considering that it was the printer and not your computer usage time in the business centre that was the issue. Please let us know how we can refund the amount charged as we do not believe in charging for services not enjoyed.

Daniel
Director
Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.