We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still remains an excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Nagoya, Japan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Still remains an excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is a return visit to Country Lodge, after staying there in June 2010 during their construction of a new wing. I had the pleasure of staying in the new wing, and was very happy.
The new wing's rooms are slightly smaller than the old wing. Their layout is generally the same as the old wing. And, when I say old, it doesn't mean the rooms are old. The new and old wings look very much the same, and are modern in style.
I was very happy when several of the front house staff, and the breakfast lady staff recognized me from my previous trip! Even one lady, Jane, remembered where I am from! That is very impressive, as they must see hundreds of people a week. That made me feel right at home.
The new wing remains up to Country Lodge standards as it is very clean and modestly appointed. It has new tvs which is nice. The beds are comfortable, not soft nor hard. The wi-fi is fine. I had some difficulty with video Skype, but that would be the case with any wi-fi. If you need to use video, then bring a wi-fi booster. Otherwise, voice Skype can run fine with their wi-fi.
The only fault I must state with the new wing is that it over looks a construction site, and it can be noisy after 9am to about 5pm. There is no a/c in the rooms, so leaving the windows open is the only way to get air. However, the room was never hot, even during this warm season, so I was never uncomfortable. Being Canadian, I like cooler rooms, and was pleasantly surprised the room was never uncomfortable.
I noticed the exercise room has an addition on the new wing. Looks really nice, but forgot to bring my athletic gear.
The breakfast room was busy in the morning, but Country Lodge had the foresight to add another nice room to handle the increase in guests. I never had to wait long for an omelette, and didn't feel crowded. The coffee is excellent, and the breakfast offerings are more than sufficient.
Once again I had a very pleasant stay, and look forward to returning in January to my home away from home in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    117
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We had a 12 hour layover at Nairobi airport and stayed at Country Lodge overnight. We arrived around 10 PM and the driver from the hotel met us as arranged. We got to the room and had a much needed shower and went in search of the bar or restaurant. Unfortunately, we were told everything was closed. This was around 10.45 pm. Luckily we weren’t hungry and managed to get someone from the adjoining restaurant to bring us some drinks. I only actually saw the hotel in the dark but it struck me as a strange affair, a bit like a conference centre, rather soul less but perfectly clean and functional. There seemed to be a couple of gyms but not much else on site. The room was OK - no frills but clean and modern, a bit like an Ibis hotel room in Europe. It took around 20minutes from the airport but that was at night and early morning-I’d leave 40 minutes in the middle of the day. In summary, the hotel was fine for what we needed but for the price I was surprised that there was no restaurant open beyond 10.30.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback.

Country Lodge is a limited food and beverage service hotel with no restaurants. This is indicated on our website and in every communication during the reservations process. However, there is a delivery service from the nearby restaurants until 11 pm. The room rate and the facilities offered are based on good value for money and functionality. Our product offering is consistent with similar limited service hotels such as like Hampton Inn (owned by Hilton), Fairfield Inn (owned by Marriott) and City Lodge. Our clientele is primarily the business traveller and s/he appreciates the peace and quiet of the hotel. Our occupancy rates of 95% reflect that our hotel is highly sought after!

Perhaps next time try our sister hotel, The Fairview!

Daniel
Director
Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Apart from lack of few services need to be provided like newspapers in the rooms,other things remain to be excellent and I really enjoyed staying with country lodge hotel hope to come back again in future!Its my hope that you will continue to stick to the fulfilment of the customer's needs and thus cupturing the whole market in Nairobi.Thanks for staying with you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here in between safari and climbing mount kenya. The hotel is very clean and in a great location. It's walking distance into the centre, as well as being far away from the busy centre of Nairobi. Security is excellent here too. One night we stayed here there was no hot water due to a power cut. They contacted us saying there were deducting 20% off the bill, I was shocked and very pleased they did this. As this would never happen in Nairobi. I would stay here again as its so clean and comfortable. The breakfast is adequate too. I do think this hotel is a little pricey for what it is. The fairview hotel next door is a lot nicer and only slightly dearer. Would of stayed there but was fully booked. Great hotel though and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed for almost five weeks and never had a problem. Rooms comfortable and adequately furnished.Large desk space giving good working area. It is an excellent business hotel with good food next door in the Fairview. Very high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel. Superb WiFi giving excellent communications, internet and Skype.
I could not fault Country Lodge and eventually gave up trying to find something wrong.
Next time in Nairobi, it is my preferred place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

For me this is the best thing going in Nairobi. I have stayed here many times, alone and with groups, very efficient staff, easy booking via email, always clean, GREAT breakfast, lovely garden, great internet, safest location in Nairobi. Its peaceful and quiet too. Walk next door to all the restaurants at Fairview, which owns this place.

Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

A new hotel concept for Nairobi - no frills, but not uncomfortable. No extras beyond the basics that are required to sleep, eat, wash and communicate over the internet. The hotel's fairly modernistic and functional, but quite pleasing (although somewhat cold and minimal). Modern, light, airy and yet very functional and sparse. I would not necessarily recommend this if you are holidaying (it is nice to have a few more frills and a little more service and aesthetics), but for the business traveller who merely wants a place to sleep, wash and work, it is just fine. The rooms are a decent size and are well-lit, with wi-fi included in the price and a good working area. Also very clean. But very minimalist - little furniture aside from the necessities (bed, wardrobe, desk unit), pine floors, small bathroom with shower and toilet (the wash basin's in the room) and a preponderance of white walls and soft furnishings. A very small TV, but that's adequate. No restaurant - although breakfast and booze is available, and it is possible to order in room service from the sister hotel the Fairview (which I would recommend for both business and leisure travel). There's also a small gym, and a little garden area. The location is good - close to town, but not in the centre, meaning it is quiet, but a taxi ride away from most places. If I was on holiday, I would expect a little more for the price (around US$100 for a single), but for business/transit layovers it is just what's required - nothing more, but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.