We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value overall, but not the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value overall, but not the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I spent 5 nights in the hotel traveling for business in Nairobi.
The hotel is located in a very safe area of Nairobi. Rooms are pretty basic, nothing fancy. You'll get a decent breakfast and it's possible to use the nice restaurants of the Fairview hotel, located nearby. High speed internet and a helpful staff are also a plus.
The hotel offers very good value for price (compared to the standard Nairobi hotels). Its main problem is location. You can only travel to the city by taxi, which tend to be expensive in general and even more expensive if you catch it right from the hotel. If you don't want to take a taxi, It'll take you at least 20-25 minutes to walk from the hotel to one of the touristic attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    113
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Frostburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed one night before going on a safari. The hotel is very clean, with comfortable rooms . Breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo-7
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

we stayed in this Hotel for two nights. the Hotel was very clean and tidy with all the necessary facilities. the high speed free WIFI should be given full credit because it was most convenient. The family room was excellent if traveling with kids. but a triple bedroom concept can be a good thing this Hotel can follow. Also, a restaurant can add more value to this Hotel. Anyway overall experience was fantastic. hope to come again to this Hotel soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The reception was just so amazing made me feel like I was still at home, room size was quite convenient, with widow panes that gave a fantastic view of the outside environment and equipped with what every traveler needs. I liked the setting of bedding most making your sleep so comfortable. I didn't like the fact that the room had just been newly worked on so the smell of the new fittings interfered with the ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Clean, organised, modern-looking, very much aimed at the business traveller. For the leisure traveller this makes it a little soulless, and the rooms are a little bare. The sink being in the room rather than the bathroom gives a hostel kind of feel.

No restaurant on site, but several at the lovely (and better choice if you can afford and can get in) Fairview Hotel next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I stayed here for one night in August and found it to be incredibly good value.

Staff at the reception desk were very efficient - check in took about 90 seconds. I was offered (without asking) the code for wireless internet and it was the best internet connection I've had in Africa - I even managed to make a skype video call on it! Breakfast was basic but nice and the food at the restaraunt next door in the Fairview where I had dinner was excellent.

I used the small gym during my stay. It only has three machines - one treadmill, one stepper machine and one exercise bike - but it's a useful facility and the machines seem to be brand new.

The only negative remark is that the rooms do lack a bit of character. However, as this is not a "destination hotel", I don't think this is really a requirement. The hotel is a base for a person visiting Nairobi and the rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable and the shower (in my room at least) was an excellent one. I will be in Nairobi again at the beginning of September - I booked my room in the Country Lodge at checkout!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai UAE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed here for a night on my own, a woman, while my husband was in hospital.

The location is good and it is very clean and efficient. Nothing too glamorous and not the kind of place you would want to chill out in during the day. It's an ideal stop-over for people who want to explore nairobi ( not too far from the elephant orphanage, a must-see) and for business travellers.

No frills but none needed for us in this case. Decent value for money considering how expensive hotels in nairobi can be.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.