We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place - except for noisy construction site next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine place - except for noisy construction site next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Country Lodge is clean, safe, and a good value. The rooms are simple but entirely comfortable - I especially liked the featherbed, electric kettle, and bedside reading light. Breakfast was abundant and tasty, and served with plenty of smiles. Free wireless is great, and the staff is helpful. I'm leaving the hotel, though, after three days of listening to the buzz and bang of power drills and hammers, even on Sunday, from the new rooms that the hotel is building next door. The work continues on Sunday. I asked for a different room, but it's equally noisy. Perhaps there's no way to avoid this, so if you're jet-lagged or don't like noise, wait until construction is finished.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback and compliments.

We sincerely apologize that you did not entirely enjoy your stay due to the construction noise (caused by the expansion of Country Lodge). The new development will be ready for occupation on August 1 and will add another 40 rooms to our property! This I am sure is music to the ears of our guests who often struggle to find rooms at Country Lodge! As we have corresponded on email, we hope our "make-up" offer is acceptable to you.

Thank you for your feedback and for supporting Country Lodge!

Daniel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    113
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

In a city with many tired and overpriced hotels, the Country Lodge is a real gem with rooms around $100 / night. Located in Upper Hill amidst many of the embassies it feels very secure with guards in all the surrounding streets and corners. The hotel offers airport pickups if you pre-book for 1200 KS which I used (warning - rush traffic is bad!).
The place has a new, fresh and clean feel while being relateively small, quiet and functional. I stayed here on a brief business trip in Rm 632, the room it had 2 beds, shower & loo, TV, and free WiFi (why don't all hotels give you this?). A basic buffet style breakfast is included in the room rate (omelettes, fruit, yogurt, rolls, coffee etc) and available until mid morning. No other meals are served in the hotel but you can order take out for delivery (I didn't) or there are snacks and cold drinks in vending machines. We chose to walk 50 metres down the street to the adjoining Fairview Lodge hotel that is owned by the same company. As there are guards 24 x 7 patrolling outside I would say even lone female travellers should feel safe doing this, even after dark. The Fairview has a choice of garden and indoor reataurants and was mostly poulated by Europeans when I was there.
In summary, if you want full room service, swimming pool, mini bar, laundry etc then Country Lodge is probably not for you but if you just want a safe, clean, reasonably priced hotel room with free wifi and breakfast you probably won't find better in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Well, I wish I could tell people not to stay here so I would be able to easily make a booking for my next trip. I made a last minute booking and was fortunate to get a room. This hotel is popular with good reason. There is nothing I could see that is negative about the Country Lodge. I was able to get an economy room, and that is all I needed.

Internet wi-fi was good, room was clean and cheerful. Bed was large enough. The shower was nice and big. The hotel staff were all very friendly and accomodating.
The good thing is that the owners of the Country Lodge, who also own Fairview Lodge next to Country Lodge, are building a large extention to Country Lodge. Although short-notice bookings have been difficult, perhaps after August when the extention is complete, more people can stay here, and last-minute bookings may not be a problem.
The hotel uses the Fairview Lodge restaurants. I tried the padio restaurant and Atrium. Both were very good and at very reasonable prices. Great food at a great price, a winning combination.

The Country Lodge has taxi drivers on standby. These guys are really friendly. I had kept my original driver (Karoki) throughout my stay. A very wonderful person.

My trip was made much nicer thanks to Country Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Country Lodge is a no-frills, great alternative to the overpriced hotels in Nairobi. The Country Lodge has a decent breakfast, a small but adequate fitness room, and large guest rooms. It is located right next to the Fairview, which has several restaurants to choose from. We ordered take-out from the Fairview many times and they delivered to he Country Lodge. If you want a great driver for the day, ask for John. He's wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, Sudan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I'm not a real fan of modernism, but the Coutnry Lodge which is so styled, proved to be the exception ot the rule. The staff are extremely firendly, courteous, helpful and make you feel at home. The room while spartan is very, very comfortable and I slept easily my entire stay. Security is outstanding. Whilst it is tucked away, and has no swimming pool and the other trappings of larger hotels, the ambiance I found relaxing and casual. I had great internet connections throughout the hotel and the gardens, and the fitness center is really, really nice - the equipment is new, clean and operates correctly. The hotel serves only breakfast, as it does not have a restaurant, but there are several restaurants at the Fairview Hotel next door, and of course Nairobi has a slew of restaurants, so maybe it's not such a bad idea not to have a reaturant at the Country Lodge. There is room service with a limited menu available for lunch and dinner catered by a couple of near-by restaurants - room service is charged to your hotel bill. After traveling for 21 hours from the U.S. to Nairobi, it was a hidden haven where I could really rest and be ready for the meetings and negotiatoins I had to conduct prior to onward travel to Sudan.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

A minimalist value for money approach which in no way detracts from comfort of rooms for a short stay. Essentials are all available, including bottled water.
Rooms are impeccably clean and service is warm, welcoming and efficient. Staff very helpful and obviously well trained.
Wide range of choice at buffet breakfast with hot foods cooked to order. Neraby restaurants within wider complex.
Pick ups from and to airport were punctual and drivers courteous.
EXCELLENT value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I should start by saying that my favorite place to stay in Nairobi is the higher-priced Fairview, next door to the Country Lodge. But having been booked here by my company, I was reasonably happy, if not thrilled, by the cheaper alternative. Country Lodge has a fairly good breakfast buffet with eggs to order (if you can get the attention of the less than friendly cook). No other food service is provided, although there are a few room service items that can be ordered from the restaurants of the Fairview next door. It's also just a short walk down a secured road to the Fairview entrance, where I and a colleague went for other meals.

The Country Lodge is fairly new, clean and shiny, and it looks like further expansion is planned. Rooms are spartan without AC, but with a ceiling fan for air circulation. Regretfully the over-the-bed fan's lowest setting was still too high to keep it on at night while sleeping. The bed itself had the hardest mattress I've experienced this side of China. There is a small TV with many cable channels and a large desk top but with a fairly uncomfortable office chair... the only other seating option in the room other than the bed.

The shower is large with ample hot water and reliable pressure. And the free internet wifi is a positive perk for a hotel in this price range. The hotel is four stories withOUT elevator and narrow hallways, which was a hassle for me, checking in twice with lots of video equipment. A porter is sometimes available. Also, during both of my stays the vending machines off the lobby were out of order, and I lost 60-bob just trying to get bottled water or a soda.

Aside from the indifferent cook, the staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2010
Thank you very much for you feedback and compliments.

Our chef Jacinta may not smile much, but she runs a great kitchen! She is very organized and has the highest of hygiene standards. So while we would prefer her to smile more, we rank hygiene and kitchen management as a higher priority. We are working with her on "customer service" skills.

Country Lodge expansion is currently in high gear and the new block includes a lift and more comfortable chairs. Also, all mattresses are in the process of being replaced.

The vending machine is now ok.

Daniel
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.