We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Lodge
2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Lawra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good we went back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

A minimalist value for money approach which in no way detracts from comfort of rooms for a short stay. Essentials are all available, including bottled water.
Rooms are impeccably clean and service is warm, welcoming and efficient. Staff very helpful and obviously well trained.
Wide range of choice at buffet breakfast with hot foods cooked to order. Neraby restaurants within wider complex.
Pick ups from and to airport were punctual and drivers courteous.
EXCELLENT value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I should start by saying that my favorite place to stay in Nairobi is the higher-priced Fairview, next door to the Country Lodge. But having been booked here by my company, I was reasonably happy, if not thrilled, by the cheaper alternative. Country Lodge has a fairly good breakfast buffet with eggs to order (if you can get the attention of the less than friendly cook). No other food service is provided, although there are a few room service items that can be ordered from the restaurants of the Fairview next door. It's also just a short walk down a secured road to the Fairview entrance, where I and a colleague went for other meals.

The Country Lodge is fairly new, clean and shiny, and it looks like further expansion is planned. Rooms are spartan without AC, but with a ceiling fan for air circulation. Regretfully the over-the-bed fan's lowest setting was still too high to keep it on at night while sleeping. The bed itself had the hardest mattress I've experienced this side of China. There is a small TV with many cable channels and a large desk top but with a fairly uncomfortable office chair... the only other seating option in the room other than the bed.

The shower is large with ample hot water and reliable pressure. And the free internet wifi is a positive perk for a hotel in this price range. The hotel is four stories withOUT elevator and narrow hallways, which was a hassle for me, checking in twice with lots of video equipment. A porter is sometimes available. Also, during both of my stays the vending machines off the lobby were out of order, and I lost 60-bob just trying to get bottled water or a soda.

Aside from the indifferent cook, the staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2010
Thank you very much for you feedback and compliments.

Our chef Jacinta may not smile much, but she runs a great kitchen! She is very organized and has the highest of hygiene standards. So while we would prefer her to smile more, we rank hygiene and kitchen management as a higher priority. We are working with her on "customer service" skills.

Country Lodge expansion is currently in high gear and the new block includes a lift and more comfortable chairs. Also, all mattresses are in the process of being replaced.

The vending machine is now ok.

Daniel
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Pros:
Very safe (Israeli embassy is down the block)
Friendly, helpful staff
Breakfast was good - Eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, croissants, yogurt, coffee, juices.
Decor - Bright, Open breakfast room for breakfast
Clean
Good value for the money.
Free Wi-fi (just get a code from the front desk)
Room safe was available and easy to use
Work out room

Cons:
Bed was a little firm for our liking

Notes:
Like others, we walked over to the Fairview and had two meals at their outdoor restaurant that were excellent. Really quiet and secure. Worth the high rating on TA.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed in the hotel only one night, on the way to the masai mara, and another night before leaving nairobi to europe, but we could all the same appreciate the quietness, the charm and security of the place. Rooms are a bit small, and there was no room for a third bed for our son. The city center is just 5 minutes away by taxi. All drivers that accompanied us to/from the airport were very gentle and informative. We would surely recommend this hotel to others. Good value for the price, if compared to other hotels in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I'm very glad that I chose Country Lodge. It was a very nice, clean and comfortable hotel. The distance from downtown was a bit far, but it was easy to get a taxi. However, being that it wasn't downtown, it was quiet and I slept well each night. I was extremely happy with the staff. They were always willing the help with any questions.

The continental breakfast was very nice. There was a good selection (eggs, meats, cereal, yogurt, breads, fruit, juices). They don't have a restaurant, but their sister hotel, The Fairview (which is just down the road) has some great places to eat.

My only complaint was the high cost of the internet service and phone calls. Phone calls were between .25 and .75 per minute (US). The internet was about .25 per minute. At the end of my time, I realized that there is an internet cafe just around the corner (think is was called ACK on Bishops Rd). It was only 1/20th of the cost.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I stayed at the County Lodge for a business trip in January. It was one of the nicest, cleanest hotels I have stayed in and such a great value. The staff were all so courteous and helpful. The next-door Fairview has excellent restaurants. I would certainly book my stay again here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Exceptional value without compromising on comfort, safety, quietness and cleanliness. We stayed overnight prior to the start of our safari. Having arrived very late in the evening, we were glad to have booked the hotel driver prior to our arrival (approx. $40 US). Although he waited 8 hrs for us due to continuous flight delays, he was very pleasant, informative and polite. Once at the hotel, which is located in proximity to several embassies, check-in took a matter of minutes. Our room was quaint, clean and very comfortable, and exactly as pictured on their website. We were also able to access free wireless internet. Breakfast was a self catered buffet with enough variety to cater to any palette, plus a chef on hand to cook the eggs/omelettes. There is no restaurant on site, but the hotel next door has an apparently wonderful selection based on other reviews. For $100-$110 US, the price was definitely worth it for what we wanted...a clean room, security and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Also Known As:
Country Hotel
Country Hotel Nairobi
Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.