We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Safest Street in Nairobi!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Vancouver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“On the Safest Street in Nairobi!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I was attending a wedding a wedding in Nairobi and the bride blocked off a bunch of rooms for foreign guests at the Country Lodge. The hotel is fairly newly built with a contemporary lobby and standard-issue rooms.

- Is it as nice as the Fairmont Norfolk? No, but you are paying half or 1/3rd the price.
- Is it on a safer street? Yes.
- Would I stay there again? Yes. But I would first try and book the Fairview Hotel (located right beside).

Location
- About 10 - 20 mins from the airport.
- Because it it located on the same street as the Israeli consulate, many say the Country Lodge is one of the safest hotels in Nairobi. You also need a keycard to buzz into the lobby.
- It is also located beside the affiliated Fairview Hotel. We basically slept and ate breakfast at the Country Lodge, then walked to the Fairview to eat all other meals and relax by the pool. The Fairview Hotel is a lush, manicured, urban oasis in comparison to the chaos of Nairobi.

Room
- fairly large
- standard-issue
- felt a little musty
- ok bed
- overall, fine

Service
- fine but not great

Other notes
- reasonable prices
- has gym (not safe to go walking or running in the streets)
- included internet (i think)
- serves a decent breakfast
- nice central courtyard for sitting and having a drink or reading a book
- Nairobi is more expensive than London, Paris, NY, etc.... Plan on spending a lot of money for safe transport and food while there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    115
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

The Country Lodge is exactly what it says it is.....a simple, partial-service hotel for business travellers. I was not traveling for business, but I appreciated the free wi-fi and full breakfast buffet. They also had a small workout room and a place to do ironing. The room was large and clean with coffee/tea making supplies. However, the furniture - although attractive - was not the most comfortable. They say the street is the safest in Nairobi and I would probably agree. Guards are posted at regular intervals, cars have to pass through blockades, and it is located in a maze of streets near embassies.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast, which was advertised as "continental", had an egg station, hot dishes, cereals, breads, etc.... The hotel does not serve other meals, but you can go next door to their partner hotel - The Fairview - for excellent choices. In fact, the Fairview was an oasis in Nairobi. Their grounds are lovely, their restaurants are good, and the atmosphere is relaxed. I wish they had rooms available when I was booking. But, if you can't get into the Fairview, Country Lodge is a good choice. The only thing that would make the Country Lodge better would be access to the Fairview's pool. I would have been happy to pay a fee to use this facility, but was told it wasn't possible. Since both hotels are owned by the same people and share staff, it seems like it is very much possible.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Country Lodge is an above average property. Very safe with guards everywhere and tightly controlled security within the hotel (via passcards to get into every new area). USD 4-5 taxi ride to city center nearby, but still far enough away to be very quiet. Breakfast was excellent, both in content and presentation and the breakfast area was bright and airy. No fridge in the room and a tiny TV (circa 1985).Wifi was adequate, but on the slow side. The double room was spacious. Weird bathroom (sliding door, not great nor soundproof if you're travelling with someone else!) with large shower only. My one pet peeve was the taxis outside the hotel. The hotel (and sister hotel, Fairview) label them as "hotel taxis" when in fact they are independent contractors. So, to arrange for a halfday taxi, you had to speak to the taxi drivers individually. Quotes ranged from 5,000 to 8,000 shillings for the same itinerary. To see the baby elephants and the giraffe center is about a 30 minute ride. Then 45 minutes to the city center and 10 minutes back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Thank you very much for you feedback.

Clarification regarding the taxis: They are labeled as "hotel based taxi drivers" and not "hotel taxis". This is clearly indicated on every communication during reservations to our guests. Yes they are owner driven taxis but they work from within the hotel premises after careful vetting and with the authority of the hotel management.

Daniel
Director
Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Country lodge is a well secured and comfortable hotel with an excellent hospitality services. I liked the secured environment both in rooms and outside the hotel. The rooms are very good, comfortable with high security. I enjoyed DSTV channels with a varieties of programs including movies, sports, local and international news. Also the wireless internet service is very fast and you can download as much as you can. I liked the place also because there are nearby local pubs and resteurants - 5min walking distance where you can have affordable "nyama choma", beers, etc.... I recommend the place interms of security and general hospitality services!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect before getting to country lodge, especially considering their low rates. But I was blown away with the secured and quite setting; and very clean environment with spacious room. Breakfast was great!

The reception was very warm. I did enjoy my stay at country lodge and will continually stay there when I am in Nairobi. I have really fallen in love with Country lodge

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed at the Country Lodge for 18 days on business. The Lodge is in a quite location next to a park and another great hotel. It is in a very secure location and has easy access to Nairobi. Rooms have free wi-fi, a small gym and great breakfast. In addition, the rooms are very modern and secure. The price was very affordable. I will stay there again the next time I go to Nairobi on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We used the lodge as a stopover on our way to the Masai Mara

The booking service from the UK was impeccable - including pick up and restaurant bookings

The Lodge reception was excellent - the rooms comfortable and very clean and the smiling faces made it an overall very good experience - and the value was good in relation to much more expensive alternatives - and the breakfast was fresh and delicious

A safe choice

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.