We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secured location with excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Accra,
1 review
“Secured location with excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect before getting to country lodge, especially considering their low rates. But I was blown away with the secured and quite setting; and very clean environment with spacious room. Breakfast was great!

The reception was very warm. I did enjoy my stay at country lodge and will continually stay there when I am in Nairobi. I have really fallen in love with Country lodge

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed at the Country Lodge for 18 days on business. The Lodge is in a quite location next to a park and another great hotel. It is in a very secure location and has easy access to Nairobi. Rooms have free wi-fi, a small gym and great breakfast. In addition, the rooms are very modern and secure. The price was very affordable. I will stay there again the next time I go to Nairobi on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We used the lodge as a stopover on our way to the Masai Mara

The booking service from the UK was impeccable - including pick up and restaurant bookings

The Lodge reception was excellent - the rooms comfortable and very clean and the smiling faces made it an overall very good experience - and the value was good in relation to much more expensive alternatives - and the breakfast was fresh and delicious

A safe choice

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I make reservations as much in advance as possible as Country Lodge is almost always booked to capacity. I have been travelling to Nairobi on business and for pleasure since the mid 1990s and for the last 2+ years the Country Lodge is the hotel of my first preference. These days the price for a room is 100 USD, and the hotel offers excellent value for money: all staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious enough, exceptionally clean, and well equipped. The free-of-charge wireless internet service is among the best and most reliable that I have encountered in Nairobi. Breakfast is the only meal served in the hotel, but the nearby Fairview (3 min. walk) has 5 excellent restaurants. The hotel is located in a very safe area of the town, and its immediate surroundings are quiet and beautiful. The hotel also has a lovely small garden. I would recommend the Country Lodge to anyone travelling on business and for pleasure to Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel was recommended to me as good for a stop over before a flight back to the UK.
The hotel is bed and breakfast, pitched mainly at business travellers.
It is in the same compound as the Fairview hotel which has a choice of restaurants 2 minutes away.
Fairly new build and seems very security conscious.
Bedroom clean, bed warm and shower luxury after a fortnight in the bush.
Transfer taxi to the airport was 1350KSh ~ £12

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

A German or Dutch style of hotel with clean lines, plenty of light and open plan areas does not fit in with the other hotels in Nairobi, but what a refreshing change it is. It has many German customers and really deserves to be highly recommended. The room rates are very reasonable (around $100 per night including all taxes, internet access and breakfast). The rooms are very clean and modern with tea and coffee facilities which are not normally provided in this mid-range line of hotels. Perfectly suitable and very very safe. Staff very friendly and helpful, with professional booking, check-in and check-out. I felt as if I was in a hotel in Europe and not Nairobi. Quality and style you can rely on and feel comfortable with.
It has a small modern gym, mini business centre, vending machines with snacks and ironing room.
The only downsize is that it doesn’t have a restaurant onsite and has no lifts, so be prepared to march up and down the stairs. Having said that it is located in the most peaceful area of Nairobi (and yet almost right in the city centre) and you can have a good night sleep in this oasis of peace. The beds are very comfy and the duvets are nice and warm (I visited in the wintertime so a normal duvet wouldn’t have been sufficient). The rooms look out to a lovely garden, and have a modern and light decor.
It sits wall to wall to the Fairview hotel, only 2 minutes away along the same tree lined path, its sister hotel which is a lovely hotel with fantastic facilities, including 5 , restaurants, travel office, souvenir shop and a pool, which you can use as a guest of the Country Lodge.
There are well priced taxis available just outside. The hotel is located on “the safest street in Nairobi” and is very secure, including the surrounding areas; this could be due to the fact that Israeli Embassy is located opposite the hotel. You can safely walk between Country Lodge and Fairview- where you can have your dinner, buy your postcards and book a safari- even at night as the roads are guarded and monitored by CCTV.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The prices that were stated on the website were what I paid, I booked over an email and 3 weeks later of no contact the reservation was still all in order. The location was serene and safe, the hotel was clean and well maintained, the service was efficient and cordial and the room was just what I needed after 6 weeks, 4 countries, 3 injuries and a stolen credit card - thanks heavens for The Country Lodge! What's more I completed the standard feedback form and they replied!!! Duly noted my pulled hen's teeth suggestions (1 bigger TV's in rooms & 2, cheaper internet...seriously?!)
Could this be a hotel that actually cares what you think??????

Fabulous - spend the extra $20, it's worth it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list