We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confrim rates in writing!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
1 review
“Confrim rates in writing!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel advertises rates for $60 and $100 when I called reservations they quoted me a rate of $191 this goes to show how they can mislead travellers...CAREFUL.

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2009
Thank you very much for your feedback.

When it comes to rate integrity, there is not a single hotel in Kenya (perhaps in the world) that can match us. Our rates are printed clearly on our website. Our advertising is clear. Each reservation is replied to in writing with the rate. Our rates are not a function of how much business a client gives us. Everyone pays the same rate.

So please, elaborate on your assertion! With regard to the $60 advertisement, perhaps you are looking at a Magazine Ad of a couple of years ago?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at the Country Lodge for a couple of nights during a brief visit to Nairobi. We were recommended this hotel by a Nairobi native who goes home to do academic research. When she returns to Kenya, her co-authors stay here.

It is not as luxe in look or feel as its sister hotel, the Fairview, which sits right next door, but its decor is clean and modern, and the rooms and common areas are spotless.

This is a hotel for business travelers, so it focuses mostly on providing services that a business traveler would need - a business center (which costs extra, although it is not expensive), included breakfast (with egg station for fresh-cooked eggs), a nice-looking gym (that we didn't use), and a small, well-kept garden in the back for looks and relaxation.

We had sort of a bizarre schedule- arriving at 5 AM and promptly going to sleep until our driver picked us up at 9 for our day in Nairobi, then coming back and sleeping until 2 AM, when we had to get up and catch our flight. As a result of arriving so early, we overslept (the ONLY negative was that we didn't get our wake-up call the first morning - it is an automated system, so we think the front desk person keyed our room number in wrong). They actually held breakfast for us, and even though the lady cooking the eggs had already cleaned her pan, she put it right back on the stove and made us eggs without complaints.

We ate dinner at the Fairview next door; the food was okay, but not amazing, but it served our purposes, as we just needed to grab a relatively quick bite. Eating at the pool was very pleasant and enjoyable. We walked to the Fairview after being assured by the front desk person at Country Lodge that this was a safe walk with no problems, even in the dark, and he was right. The access road has a couple of guards on it, and security is tight.

I will say that this is not a great hotel if you have kids or physical issues- I don't think there is an elevator (not that we knew of), so we climbed a lot of stairs, which is fine for 2 fit young adults without a lot of luggage, but for travelers who are disabled or who would have issues with stairs, you might consider the Fairview next door instead.

  • Liked — Complete cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

The Country Lodge and its cousin the Fairview may be an okay choice if you are a caucasian and don't mind seeing Africans mistreated by foreigners. I was appalled.

The prices are reasonable, the accommodations are okay, but the service is sub-standard, however. I have stayed on two occasions (I thought the first time was an anomaly) but will never do so again.

  • Liked — hard working staff
  • Disliked — management policies
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at Country Lodge Hotel for one week (December 27, 2008-Jan.2, 2009). We were incredibly impressed with the professional, friendly and helpful service each and every staff member provided. I felt safe, comfortable and at ease at the hotel. The rooms were impeccable - new, clean and great size. (I stayed in a single economy for 6900ksh - $87USD).

I highly recommend this hotel to others. I expect to be back in Nairobi sometime and would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Amazing staff!!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.