We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe very comfortable oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi to your Saves list
Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A safe very comfortable oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Because it is linked with the Fairview hotel it offers several excellent resteraunts and pool. Almost 5 star because of quality and caring staff. High security. Only criticism is the airport shuttle has been terminated and no aircon for the hot season. Also, unfortunately noisy construction work from an adjacent site will spoil a normally very quiet hotel for quite a period

Room Tip: Not facing construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations - unfortunately there is very little we can do when it comes to construction taking place in other buildings. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as we continually strive to improve our customer service and satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed in a variety of guesthouses and hotels in Nairobi over the past few years. This hotel is by far the best; here is why
1) direct internal gate access to Fairview Hotel (a four star hotel with 5 great restaurants)
2) clean, spacious, comfortable room with a great desk for working
3) gym and access to pool at Fairview
4) security - the Fairview and town lodge are one of the safest hotels in town abutting the Israel embassy
5) the staff are friendly and professional - always eager to go the extra mile and used to longer stay business travelers missing the comforts of home.

I'm going to give this hotel 5 stars even though I think there is one essential improvement to be made. All hotels have improvements. Please convert the additional dining space on the second floor (in the back on the way to the pool) into a communal area for guests to have a drink, watch a football match and to meet other guests. It will not bother anyone and guests like to meet others sometimes. The Fairview in my opinion closes way too early (at 10pm) - it is almost dead. If you prefer a hotel with more nightlife, stay at the Intercontinental just across the park. The Town lodge could differentiate itself with a small area and/or the Fairview could offer a later night lounge for guests to have a drink and mingle at. There needs to be something to do from 10-12pm for guests within this compound. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for the very constructive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as we continually strive to improve our customer service and satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm giving this five stars because it is fantastic value for money and has superb security. You have full access to the neighboring Fairview hotel restaurants and pool through an internal entrance. The Town Lodge is clean, the breakfast good and the staff friendly. I always stay here and recommend it to others. My one wish is that they'd have hair dryers in every room (they to have them at reception but you have to return it.)

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and we are SO happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to having you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Comfortable, good value hotel located next door to the Fairview Hotel, with direct and secure access to all that hotel's restaurants and facilities. Felt very safe and secure and great central location.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, April 17, 2015
Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

This is a solid hotel with all the amenities necessary. Very safe ( suitcases are scanned before entering). Price is very reasonable at about $130 a night depending on the going exchange rate. It includes an English breakfast with fresh fruit and eggs. Good Kenyan coffee in a mug and friendly people to help.
The rooms are simple with a good shower a large basin with space to put your toiletries. Bottled water is provided every day. No aircon needed as you have a fan and it always cools down in the evenings.
The best thing is that you can go through a gate to the adjacent hotel the Fairview and make use of 4 restaurants and charge it to your hotel bill. Two of the restaurants are outside, either in the garden or around the pool. The burgers as well as the Pasta are very good. So you don't have to leave the premises to enjoy the outdoors.
Safety is very well taken care of. Vetted taxi drivers are available outside. Enjoy your stay! I stay here all the time! The hotel has recently been taken over by a South African group, Citylodge and now is under their management.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
Thanks for the positive review and for your continuous support Mark! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we are able to consistently meet your needs and requirements again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This Town Lodge is perfect for the business traveller. The rooms are simple, small but certainly ideal for those few hours you will only spend there while in Nairobi on business. The shower had great pressure and temperature.The easy and secure access to Fairview Hotel to enable you to get your meals is great especially as you are limited to food if to remain at the Town Lodge which is only a bed and breakfast with a limited, expensive and somewhat uninspiring room service menu.
That said though the breakfast on offer was great and certainly more than enough to take you through the day. All staff I encountered were so helpful and friendly. The other great thing about this hotel is the location- quiet and very secure.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Hi Louisa, Thank you for the constructive review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This hotel is well located close to the business district of Nairobi. The staff are really friendly and reception and check is efficient. The rooms are neet and tidy. Not over luxurious but have all the amenities that a traveller needs. There is free wireless which works most of the time. This is a huge advantage. As this is not a full service hotel it feels a bit deserted at times. The great thing is that guests are allowed to use the facilities of the adjacent Citylodge Fairview Hotel. This hotel has great restaurants, beautiful gardens and a great swimming pool which guests of the Country Lodge can use. The breakfast served is good. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

What also amazed me about this hotel is that they actually take the time to listen to your suggestions and comments and they do make a point of remembering frequent guests. This adds to the customer service.

Room Tip: The rooms above the breakfast area , 628, 629, 630 are very noise and hot. Avoid them if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
We thank you for the great review. We're really pleased to hear that you experienced friendly service from our staff and that your check-in was efficient. It's also good that you found the rooms to be well equipped and and comfortable. We're happy you found us perfect for a business traveller and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Address: Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.