We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the box” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi to your Saves list
Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the box”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Town Lodge is perfect for the business traveller. The rooms are simple, small but certainly ideal for those few hours you will only spend there while in Nairobi on business. The shower had great pressure and temperature.The easy and secure access to Fairview Hotel to enable you to get your meals is great especially as you are limited to food if to remain at the Town Lodge which is only a bed and breakfast with a limited, expensive and somewhat uninspiring room service menu.
That said though the breakfast on offer was great and certainly more than enough to take you through the day. All staff I encountered were so helpful and friendly. The other great thing about this hotel is the location- quiet and very secure.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Louisa, Thank you for the constructive review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This hotel is well located close to the business district of Nairobi. The staff are really friendly and reception and check is efficient. The rooms are neet and tidy. Not over luxurious but have all the amenities that a traveller needs. There is free wireless which works most of the time. This is a huge advantage. As this is not a full service hotel it feels a bit deserted at times. The great thing is that guests are allowed to use the facilities of the adjacent Citylodge Fairview Hotel. This hotel has great restaurants, beautiful gardens and a great swimming pool which guests of the Country Lodge can use. The breakfast served is good. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

What also amazed me about this hotel is that they actually take the time to listen to your suggestions and comments and they do make a point of remembering frequent guests. This adds to the customer service.

Room Tip: The rooms above the breakfast area , 628, 629, 630 are very noise and hot. Avoid them if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
We thank you for the great review. We're really pleased to hear that you experienced friendly service from our staff and that your check-in was efficient. It's also good that you found the rooms to be well equipped and and comfortable. We're happy you found us perfect for a business traveller and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Clean, modern and excellent quality of service. Safe and peaceful. Adjoins Fairview Hotel with excellent resteraunts and pool. Good small gym. Excellent value for money. No aircon so thin duvet needed at hot times with ceiling fan on.

Room Tip: 1st floor as no lift over part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
Thank you for the excellent review. It's fantastic to find that you enjoyed your stay and felt safe and peaceful. We're pleased you found us to be good value for money and that you enjoyed the facilities like the pool and restaurant. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Country Lodge is situated in a quiet and peaceful part of Nairobi. There is access to the delightful Fairview Hotel next door. If you have budgetary issues, it is cheaper than the Fairview but you can still take your meals at the Fairview as there is offstreet access. The rooms are clean and functional, but not very big. The breakfast area is above reception The breakfast is good. Both these hotels are difficult to get to in the evening rush hour because of the horrendous traffic. The view out of the window is not great.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
Thank you for the excellent review. We're happy to hear that you found your stay to be great value for money, and that you enjoyed the breakfast options available. We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

2 brisk days in Nairobi on business development and contacting, and the least you want is hassle and naging concerns.

Thus I am happy to have been advised to check into the Lodge. Clean, safe, quiet and secluded.

My meetings were held in other locations, the adjacent Hotel Gardens, which are just lovely! Other than that, the Interconti was the venue for the conference that we followed and all is in reach even considering the heavy traffic.

All at a very reasonable price, thank you, and, Yes, I will be back.

Room Tip: Upper floors even give you a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
We thank you for the great review. It's great to hear that you found your stay to be quiet and enjoyable, and that you found the price to be reasonable. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel has very intense security which resulted in me feeling less secure. The wifi is acceptable and there is a good selection of TV channels. The hotel only provides breakfast but you can go to the sister hotel of other meals and use their facilities pool etc. we ate our meals there which were ok. we saw no evidence if a lift in the hotel so we were glad not to be on the upper floors. This would have been difficult with heavy luggage. In summary- nice enough but nothing special in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was acceptable, and that you took advantage of the facilities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I stayed at the Country Lodge in July 2013 for a couple of nights and would highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are clean, spacious and the hotel is not that far from the city center. People who worked at the hotel are very nice and it is within walking distance of some very nice restaurants. It is geared for business travelers but I stayed there when I was going to the Masai Mara and it was very nice and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
We thank you for the good review. We're happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and would stay with us again. It's also pleasing that you enjoyed the surrounding restaurants and found the rooms to be up to standard. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Address: Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.