We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and good business option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi to your Saves list
Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Amsterdam, Nederland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Simple and good business option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Located right next door to the Fairview, now with key card gate access directly into the garden. This adds value to the Country Lodge, because you have restaurant options and that wonderful garden and pool right there. The security is taken seriously, but is not limiting. Rooms are simple, no hairdryer in your room but there are a few available at the reception. A small and basic gym with treadmill. The wifi is good most of the time, but in a few rooms a little less reliable. A little noisy in the rooms, especially if you are at the entrance to a passage where there is a security door, or new the stairwells. The beds have been improved and are not as hard as they used to be!

Room Tip: The back rooms in the block with a lift cost a little more, but they are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and that you enjoyed the standard of the rooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a modern, safe and good value bed and breakfast hotel. The decore is sparse Ikea style. You get an efficent, clean hotel for your hotel. It is connected to the more upmarket hotel Fairview Hotel next door. It has five restaurants. I ate at the French Bistro which was excellent fine dining. It cost as much as my Country Lodge night. It was worth it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We thank you for the positive review. We're glad you found our hotel efficiently run and clean. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed in the Country Lodge for a total of six days in May 2014. First, it probably the safest hotel I have ever stayed in - security is good (its just up the street from the High Commission of the State of Israel), with keys needed to go in and out of the building and lots of security inside. Second, it is quiet - rooms are spacious, but simple, clean and efficient for the business traveller. Third, it is attached to the Fairview which is the best hotel in Nairobi with several good places to eat. Nice pool and pool bar. If I come back to Nairobi, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor is quieter than upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We thank you for the positive review. We're glad that you enjoyed the safety and security aspect of the hotel as well as the quality of the rooms! We do hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Address: Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.