We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fuss business hotel in Nairobi at very good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“No fuss business hotel in Nairobi at very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Country Lodge (soon to be City Lodge apparently) is definitely a great place to be for business on Upper Hill. For the price you pay here you can't get anything similar anywhere else in Nairobi - and a lot worse. Yes, the rooms are furnished like a chain hotel, and yes they are not massive, but the beds are great, the bedding is very good (including two different pillows, hard and soft), and the rooms are quiet. The breakfast is very good, and the filter coffee up to scratch. Good free WiFi, and the option to use all of the neighbouring Fairview Hotel facilities makes it a great location. The staff I dealt with in several stays over a longer period were absolutely fantastic, and super helpful.

Room Tip: Higher up (i.e. any room were second digit is 1 or higher) is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive and generous review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and were treated really well by our staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    115
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This seems a good option for business travellers in Nairobi. It's not in a pretty district for tourists etc (but then I am not sure if Nairobi has any!), but could make a useful stop overnight before heading onto Safari etc. Decent wifi, good value and interesting variety of food on room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for six days,working trip.Second time have stayed here and still good standards prevail.good breakfast and wi-FI included.good security all around.Fairview facilities are available with pool,bars and food available in beautiful gardens settings.Staff all welcoming and helpful.rooms cleaned to high standard,bed comfort good.Close to British High Commission and other Embassies.stongly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.Have also stayed in Fairview next door and recommend that also.

Room Tip: All I have stayed in have been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for two days in December 2013 while on a business trip. In the current security climate in Nairobi, if your primary concern is safety, then this is THE place! Security is so tight, better than most embassies I have been to- tight security outside with armed guards, cameras and barricades before the entrance.The check in was seamless, but the room was tiny- Just one queen bed with barely enough space to walk around, a small alcove with a washbasin and coffee/tea maker, and a toilet and shower. Apart from the complimentary tea and coffee sachets, you get one TINY 100ml bottle of water- and that is it! There is no Air conditioning, which is usually OK in Nairobi as the temperature is quite comfortable, but since the room is small, it can get a bit stuffy. There is no swimming pool, but guests can pay and use the pool at the Fairview next door. The breakfast options are limited, and there is no lunch or dinner served in the hotel- you have to go to one of the 4 restaurants in the adjoining Fairview hotel for food- the food was good, but somewhat expensive. The wi-fi worked well, and the staff are friendly, efficient, and ever-so-security conscious. Smokers beware as this is a totally non-smoking hotel. If security is your prime concern in Nairobi and you don't mind the cramped room and the other inconveniences,and you are not a smoker, then this is OK, but for the price I paid, I will definitely be looking at other options the next time!

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floors so that you can keep the windows open and let in some fresh air in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our security measures as well as our accommodating staff. We apologize that you didn't enjoy the size of room. Larger rooms and more facilities are available at the Fairview which is our sister hotel. Please give us another try. We do believe that our offering does provide value for money and is competitively priced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I enjoyed it more for every day of my short stay. Efficient clean and no old soggy wall-to-wall carpets in the rooms. If you like the IKEA style you will like this hotel . The price was not Ikea ,a bit on the high side but that is maybe what Nairobi is.
Good with internet access and fresh breakfast .
A bit warm in the room,no aircon . Ask for a room high up and open up your window full!

Room Tip: get a room at upper floors and let the air flow in.No a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed room and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Single woman business traveller- this hotel has good security, is clean, showers have good pressure. Does not have AC whichever is generally ok for Nairobi.. Hair dryers at front desk. Good breakfast, central, fast enough internet. Not complaints, very functional. Restaurants next door good and handy after a long day at work.

Room Tip: Near elevators or interior doors would be loud I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is very new, with modern basic decoration and finishing.
The hotel has main basic facilities, but no restaurant. The hotel is though connected to the next door Fairview hotel, where there are various restaurants. The bill of these restaurants can be charged to the hotel without any problem.
They have WIFI, but it is not very stable. sometimes interrupted.
There are 2 small gym rooms with a couple of aerobic machines. OK to get into a sweat after a days work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.