We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good balance of security and comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good balance of security and comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This seems a good option for business travellers in Nairobi. It's not in a pretty district for tourists etc (but then I am not sure if Nairobi has any!), but could make a useful stop overnight before heading onto Safari etc. Decent wifi, good value and interesting variety of food on room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    110
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tenby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for six days,working trip.Second time have stayed here and still good standards prevail.good breakfast and wi-FI included.good security all around.Fairview facilities are available with pool,bars and food available in beautiful gardens settings.Staff all welcoming and helpful.rooms cleaned to high standard,bed comfort good.Close to British High Commission and other Embassies.stongly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.Have also stayed in Fairview next door and recommend that also.

Room Tip: All I have stayed in have been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for two days in December 2013 while on a business trip. In the current security climate in Nairobi, if your primary concern is safety, then this is THE place! Security is so tight, better than most embassies I have been to- tight security outside with armed guards, cameras and barricades before the entrance.The check in was seamless, but the room was tiny- Just one queen bed with barely enough space to walk around, a small alcove with a washbasin and coffee/tea maker, and a toilet and shower. Apart from the complimentary tea and coffee sachets, you get one TINY 100ml bottle of water- and that is it! There is no Air conditioning, which is usually OK in Nairobi as the temperature is quite comfortable, but since the room is small, it can get a bit stuffy. There is no swimming pool, but guests can pay and use the pool at the Fairview next door. The breakfast options are limited, and there is no lunch or dinner served in the hotel- you have to go to one of the 4 restaurants in the adjoining Fairview hotel for food- the food was good, but somewhat expensive. The wi-fi worked well, and the staff are friendly, efficient, and ever-so-security conscious. Smokers beware as this is a totally non-smoking hotel. If security is your prime concern in Nairobi and you don't mind the cramped room and the other inconveniences,and you are not a smoker, then this is OK, but for the price I paid, I will definitely be looking at other options the next time!

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floors so that you can keep the windows open and let in some fresh air in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our security measures as well as our accommodating staff. We apologize that you didn't enjoy the size of room. Larger rooms and more facilities are available at the Fairview which is our sister hotel. Please give us another try. We do believe that our offering does provide value for money and is competitively priced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I enjoyed it more for every day of my short stay. Efficient clean and no old soggy wall-to-wall carpets in the rooms. If you like the IKEA style you will like this hotel . The price was not Ikea ,a bit on the high side but that is maybe what Nairobi is.
Good with internet access and fresh breakfast .
A bit warm in the room,no aircon . Ask for a room high up and open up your window full!

Room Tip: get a room at upper floors and let the air flow in.No a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed room and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Single woman business traveller- this hotel has good security, is clean, showers have good pressure. Does not have AC whichever is generally ok for Nairobi.. Hair dryers at front desk. Good breakfast, central, fast enough internet. Not complaints, very functional. Restaurants next door good and handy after a long day at work.

Room Tip: Near elevators or interior doors would be loud I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is very new, with modern basic decoration and finishing.
The hotel has main basic facilities, but no restaurant. The hotel is though connected to the next door Fairview hotel, where there are various restaurants. The bill of these restaurants can be charged to the hotel without any problem.
They have WIFI, but it is not very stable. sometimes interrupted.
There are 2 small gym rooms with a couple of aerobic machines. OK to get into a sweat after a days work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Country Lodge set itself up as a 'business hotel'. However, I would say this is a great hotel, in a central location, for anyone who needs a base in Nairobi for a few days. The hotels are somewhat minimalist but with everything you need. Unlike many hotels in Nairobi the showers are excellent.
The hotel does have a gym, and free wifi, but not many other facilities on site. However, that does not matter as there is a secure gate that connects to Fairview hotel next door. The Fairview has multiple restaurants, a bar, and a pool, all available for use by Country Lodge guests. This more than makes up for the things the Country Lodge doesn't have, and this of course keeps the price down

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your uplifting review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall feel of the hotel as well as the facilities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.