We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Modern business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is very new, with modern basic decoration and finishing.
The hotel has main basic facilities, but no restaurant. The hotel is though connected to the next door Fairview hotel, where there are various restaurants. The bill of these restaurants can be charged to the hotel without any problem.
They have WIFI, but it is not very stable. sometimes interrupted.
There are 2 small gym rooms with a couple of aerobic machines. OK to get into a sweat after a days work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    110
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Country Lodge set itself up as a 'business hotel'. However, I would say this is a great hotel, in a central location, for anyone who needs a base in Nairobi for a few days. The hotels are somewhat minimalist but with everything you need. Unlike many hotels in Nairobi the showers are excellent.
The hotel does have a gym, and free wifi, but not many other facilities on site. However, that does not matter as there is a secure gate that connects to Fairview hotel next door. The Fairview has multiple restaurants, a bar, and a pool, all available for use by Country Lodge guests. This more than makes up for the things the Country Lodge doesn't have, and this of course keeps the price down

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your uplifting review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall feel of the hotel as well as the facilities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmaris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed at the twin room along with my boss and i thought it was great value for money. the staff are very friendly and helpful. i arrived 5 in the morning but they still let me do an early check-in without extra charge. some hotels don't do this even if they have vacant rooms.

the hotel is in a very safe location near the israeli embassy and country lodge guests can use the restaurants at fairview hotel which is just next door. fairview offers great indian food by the pool area, but i would avoid the french restaurant as i thought the quality was not good. i will definetly stay at country lodge again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recently spent two nights at this hotel before and after climbing Mt Kenya. Staff were very friendly, professional and accommodating. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The free Wi-fi was reliable. Having access to a variety of eating spots in a secure and pretty setting was a highlight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Happy New Year and thank you for your kind review - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at Country Lodge for over two weeks and was very happy with the hotel. The rooms are simply decorated and very clean. The security is great (cameras in the halls and a different key for each hall). The multi-use outlets are also very convenient. Breakfast is good and after 10am the breakfast area is no longer used so you can relax there and even borrow wine glasses and plates if you'd like. There are also tables in the garden area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a bank with an ATM a two minute walk away.

The amenities at the Fairview are very convenient and we ate most of our meals at one of their four restaurants. They don't offer wine by the glass, but have a great bottle selection and allow you to take away an unfinished bottle. We also used the travel company at the Fairview. Note that you have to pay to use the pool or lounge chairs, but can relax and do work at the poolside restaurant.

The only drawbacks were that there was no fridge in the room (though there is a common one downstairs) and you have to borrow the hair dryer from the front desk and return it every morning.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the gym can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

A nice, clean hotel in the centre of Nairobi. A lot of security outside with securitymen, cameras and big bars before you can come in. Small rooms with a good shower and toilet. Big beautifull gardens outside with serveral restaurants, another hotel and a pool. The Country Lodge itself is not very cosy but okay for a businesstrip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Simple, uncomplicated hotel. With basic, clean and practical needs taken care off. its in a great area, with great restuarants nearby at the Fairview hotel next door. especially practical is the interlinking corridor to the Fairview hotel pool area. Staff are helpful and approachable.

Room Tip: dont choose one facing the parking lot, the taxi drivers will keep you up with talking through the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.