We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient, and good restaurants on your door step” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Lodge
2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Kilifi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean, efficient, and good restaurants on your door step”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Country Lodge set itself up as a 'business hotel'. However, I would say this is a great hotel, in a central location, for anyone who needs a base in Nairobi for a few days. The hotels are somewhat minimalist but with everything you need. Unlike many hotels in Nairobi the showers are excellent.
The hotel does have a gym, and free wifi, but not many other facilities on site. However, that does not matter as there is a secure gate that connects to Fairview hotel next door. The Fairview has multiple restaurants, a bar, and a pool, all available for use by Country Lodge guests. This more than makes up for the things the Country Lodge doesn't have, and this of course keeps the price down

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your uplifting review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall feel of the hotel as well as the facilities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Marmaris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed at the twin room along with my boss and i thought it was great value for money. the staff are very friendly and helpful. i arrived 5 in the morning but they still let me do an early check-in without extra charge. some hotels don't do this even if they have vacant rooms.

the hotel is in a very safe location near the israeli embassy and country lodge guests can use the restaurants at fairview hotel which is just next door. fairview offers great indian food by the pool area, but i would avoid the french restaurant as i thought the quality was not good. i will definetly stay at country lodge again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recently spent two nights at this hotel before and after climbing Mt Kenya. Staff were very friendly, professional and accommodating. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The free Wi-fi was reliable. Having access to a variety of eating spots in a secure and pretty setting was a highlight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Happy New Year and thank you for your kind review - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at Country Lodge for over two weeks and was very happy with the hotel. The rooms are simply decorated and very clean. The security is great (cameras in the halls and a different key for each hall). The multi-use outlets are also very convenient. Breakfast is good and after 10am the breakfast area is no longer used so you can relax there and even borrow wine glasses and plates if you'd like. There are also tables in the garden area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a bank with an ATM a two minute walk away.

The amenities at the Fairview are very convenient and we ate most of our meals at one of their four restaurants. They don't offer wine by the glass, but have a great bottle selection and allow you to take away an unfinished bottle. We also used the travel company at the Fairview. Note that you have to pay to use the pool or lounge chairs, but can relax and do work at the poolside restaurant.

The only drawbacks were that there was no fridge in the room (though there is a common one downstairs) and you have to borrow the hair dryer from the front desk and return it every morning.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the gym can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

A nice, clean hotel in the centre of Nairobi. A lot of security outside with securitymen, cameras and big bars before you can come in. Small rooms with a good shower and toilet. Big beautifull gardens outside with serveral restaurants, another hotel and a pool. The Country Lodge itself is not very cosy but okay for a businesstrip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Simple, uncomplicated hotel. With basic, clean and practical needs taken care off. its in a great area, with great restuarants nearby at the Fairview hotel next door. especially practical is the interlinking corridor to the Fairview hotel pool area. Staff are helpful and approachable.

Room Tip: dont choose one facing the parking lot, the taxi drivers will keep you up with talking through the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks while teaching at Strathmore University. So much positive about the place – impeccably clean, surprisingly quiet, simple attractive rooms with all the amenities I needed to both work and sleep, comprehensive complimentary breakfast, exceptionally approachable staff willing to help immediately with any problems, access to a forested rabbit’s warren of five restaurants associated with the Fairview Hotel, good TV access, good if not super fast internet access – all for a very reasonable rate. I recommend the Country Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Also Known As:
Country Hotel
Country Hotel Nairobi
Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.