We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the centre of Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good value in the centre of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great discovery: good value, comfy beds, wooden floors and very modern if a little basic, but attached as it is to the Fairview it has the benefits of four restaurants, several bars and the pool. Perfect for transit and short stays. Who wants to stay in Nairobi anyway? At the time of writing we have the dreadful Westgate siege in full swing so are escaping to Lamu. But there is no lift so don't stay on the upper floors if you have heavy baggage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    117
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a very good welcome at midnight after our flight with a choice of rooms. The bedrooms are spacious and fairly utilitarion, but fine for a night or two. There is a basin in the room with the shower and toilet in a private space in the corner. The shower is quite roomy. A television is supplied, a bedside light on one side of the bed only and coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast is on the 1st floor (US - 2nd floor) and there is a choice of cereals, fruit and cooked foods. The Country Lodge now has direct access to the Fairview Hotel with a covered walkway and there one has a choice of restaurants. I don't know if the swimming pool is available for Country Lodge residents. The hotel is well guarded and one needs an access 'key' to enter the hotel. The nearby roads are all guarded and car boots are regularly checked before being allowed into the area - this is the 'safest street in Nairobi' and that is because the Israeli embassy is opposite the Fairview.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Just to clarify on the Fairview Hotel pool: It is strictly for Fairview residents only.

Regards,
Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Probably because my dad is an architect but the first thing I look at when I get to an hotel is the Exits and I put myself in all situations. The hotel is great, clean, nice, etc, but we were in the 4th floor (no elevator) at the end of a hall, with no exits whatsoever. It felt claustrophobic … We were there only for one night so we didn’t get to enjoy the pool but the restaurant was awesome (and pricey).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We began our two+ week safari by starting off in Nairobi.

Not only is NBO the consummately tough town (locals call it Nairobbery), this hotel is like an armed camp, at the end of a deserted street, with a wandering guard, with piano wire around the walls, and seemingly on lockdown.

The food was so-so (to be fair, we arrived too late for dinner, and had a breakfast which was lackluster, then we left for our safari).

I didn't like the feeling of a lockdown, and judging from what the place felt like when we arrived at night, you couldn't have paid me to walk around the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Country Lodge Hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was clean and well decorated. The staff were all very kind and professional. They always took the extra steps to make sure you were having a great experience. The rooms were also very nice and clean.
Yet, there were a few things that made it truly exceptional. First, they had an amazing breakfast that exceeded any "included" breakfast I have ever had except for a few higher end bed and breakfast establishments in the US. Second, it is an very safe location (right next to the Israel Embassy) in the most desirable part of the city. Third, you can enjoy nearly all of what the more expensive sister hotel (the Fairview) offers through the pathways joining the two properties. While we stayed at the Country Lodge, we had some our meals and had our large conference at the excellent facilities at the Fairview....and we could charge everything to our rooms at the Country Lodge.
The only drawback for some people is that it does not have air conditioning in the rooms. However, the temperature varies little in Nairobi, and the nights are cool enough most days of the year that the overhead fan provides more than adequate air movement and cooling. This is coming from someone who must have a cooler room or will spend the whole night tossing and turning. However, if you must have air conditioning, the Fairview is a great alternative (but you will pay considerably more).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is clean. It is a wonderful value. The bed was comfortable and firm. The ceiling fan kept me sound asleep. The breakfast is outstanding. You must stay here- what a find. Beautiful grounds to roam. It is very safe. The staff are so gracious. You'll love it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in early September for two nights prior to our safari. It is clean, the staff are friendly and the location is great. We walked into the city which took only about 30 mins.

If there is a downside it is that the sound insulation between rooms is not good.

Other than that I highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.