We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, secure lodging in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good value, secure lodging in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Country Lodge when there was no vacancy at the Fairview (adjacent "sister" hotel, where I usually stay). The Country Lodge staff were very pleasant, and rooms, while not large, are clean, secure, and well-appointed - with good wifi. All in all a great value for the money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    110
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gittisham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel, very secure, with extremely helpful staff. Very comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, clean and spacious room. Wi-Fi works well in the room too! Breakfast was something to get up for even early in the morning, good coffee & tea, juice, fruit, cheese, cereal, toast, croissants & pastries, cooked breakfast and omelettes. Access to Fairview Hotel next door, with pool and four restaurants an added bonus. Enjoyed our evening meal at the Pango. Would stay again if going on another safari.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Third time at Country Lodge and will stay there again in hopefully 2 years when i return to go on safari again. very, very secure. love that as i am usually alone. they also have a safe for valuables and lock room to leave extras in when u fly out to safari. that is so handy. i love the showers, beds, desk and all general areas. so much room and very quiet. staff is so accomodating (hairdryers avail) and breakfast great with lots of fresh fruit, juices, cereal and made to order eggs. its all u ever need while in nairobi!

Room Tip: i like a room that overlooks gardens and i think that is odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Once again, Di and George Muller excelled as our hosts for the 4-day stay at Country Lane Lodge. As before, our accommodation was tastefully spacious, clean and well maintained, and all breakfasts were an event to look forward to as well as keeping us going throughout the day. Each evening we'd take a gentle stroll through the grounds and the tranquil setting served to end the day in the best way possible - relaxed and renewed. Thank you! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ended up in this hotel due to flight delay but could not have been more happy with the stay.
The staff were helpful in arranging the stay and very welcoming even though late at night when doing so.
Rooms were well equipped and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Country Lodge for 3 nights on a business trip to Nairobi. Picked the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews plus the cost. This is a small hotel attached to a much larger and more expensive Fairview Hotel. The hotel is fenced and with sufficient security. The grounds are beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, had a nice design, with mosquito nets on the windows. Service was very good, and wi-fi worked well everywhere around the hotel. They served a nice continental breakfast. There are several more very nice scenic restaurants in the adjusting Fairview. It's a very good hotel and I had a very good stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I had such a pleasant experience at this hotel. We could not have found a more secure and safe place to stay for the night. The complimentary breakfast is out of this world. The beds were very comfortable and we highly recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.