We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Country Lodge is a modern, very secure and well run establishment that provides the necessary basic facilities. The rooms are clean, spacious with plenty of natural light, reliable WiFi, a room safe and a large screen television. Breakfasts are adequate and the staff very friendly and efficient. The location really adds value as it is in a quiet area and guests have access via a short walk to all the amenities that the luxurious Fairview Hotel next door offers. Here there is a large swimming pool, two gyms and four good quality restaurants to choose from. The Country Lodge also operates a shuttle service to the airport twice a day at around half the cost of a taxi (currently at 5:30am and 8:30pm - I assume to avoid the very bad traffic jams that often occur during the day). I will certainly prioritse this hotel on my next business trip to Nairobi.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking up stairs try and choose a room closest to the ground floor. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Just to clarify on the Fairview Hotel pool: It is strictly for Fairview residents only.

Regards,

Mark | Joint Managing Director | Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    117
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent value for money. All the advantages of having a nice secure hotel with a very quiet environment. The access to the Fairview through inner gate is great. Can go to the Fairview restaurants and charge to your room in the Country Lodge. So, has all the advantages of staying in the Fairview Hotel without the extra expense. The breakfast in the Country Lodge is excellent, even better than the Fairview as you can get a very good omelet cooked to order, good selection of fruits, and even some vegetables, cheeses, etc. The breakfast area is very nice and there is ample setting. Excellent choice to stay in Nairobi for business traveler, Taxi service always available and good prices.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for room in the building with the elevators. Is a quiet area and top floor has good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Country Lodge by itself is a fairly nice hotel, the fact that guests can make use of the Fairview Hotel facilities upgrades’ it and raise its overall experience by far.

Staff is very polite friendly and service minded. Without doubt hotel is located at the most secured place in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Nothing above the entrance side, best choice would be higher floor at the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Country Lodge provides a calm green flourishing environment in the city!
The lodge is well light with natural light and refreshened with well organised vegetation that serves as a habitant to birds which actually welcomes you to the break of day with singing early in the morning.
You cannot afford to miss the delicious meals offered by the Pwani Pool resturant, i enjoyed the rib eye served with often baked potato, spinach sauce and mushroom soup.
Breakfast is colourful and starts you energized for a great day.
It is secured and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The long established and elegant Fairview Hotel with beautiful gardens, décor, fireplaces and charm is literally connected to the Country Lodge so that in some cases the pool area of the Fairview may be closer to some of the rooms in the CL than to rooms in the Fairview itself! Other than the use of the gym and actually swimming in the pool, guests at the CL have full access to all facilities at the Fairview including room charges on their hotel bill (the management of the two hotels is the same). I spent almost all my (hotel) time at the Fairview and used the CL for sleeping purposes. Incidentally, even without the Fairview next door, the CL is an excellent hotel in terms of room amenities, breakfast buffet, service etc. I'm never staying at another hotel in Nairobi as long as they keep up with this level of comfort, service and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed for three very relaxing days in June in the Country Lodge Hotel before beginning a 5 week Overland trip through Africa.
It is a really nice, modern hotel with nice spacious rooms and a good bathroom. I can't believe some of the reviews here complaining about the size of the rooms or the spartan decor, i mean really, who cares as long as it is clean and comfortable... which it is. I also don't understand those moaning about the lack of restaurant - it tells you clearly on more than one occasion prior to booking that you have to go next door. There are four great places to eat at the Fairview and a nice pool, all of which is at your disposal if you stay in the Country Lodge.
The location in Upper Hills is very safe. it is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre. The staff assured it it was safe by day so I trusted them... and I had no problems. Wouldn't do it at night though!I feel the hotel is a little expensive though and it REALLY annoyed me when my phone battery died and I was told I had to pay extra to use the computers in the paltry business centre. This is a disgrace seeing as I was paying over €100 a night, absolute meanness in my opinion.
Still, that's my only complaint. It is a really nice place, very safe and a very good option in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I thoroughly agree with many other reviewers' positive comments about the Country Lodge. The foot access that has been recently added to allow direct connection to the Fairview restaurants next door is a nice improvement, as is the ability to sign your bills at the Fairview and log onto the Fairview wi-fi while you're over there using your Country Lodge access codes.

The working area in my room was large, with multiple power sockets (including a multi-socket for non-UK type plugs) and I found the wi-fi reliable and pretty fast.

Just a suggestion - could coffee and tea be made available on a self-service basis on the 1st floor for the whole day? This would be a nice touch and would cost the hotel very little.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.