We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean genial cozy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice clean genial cozy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Country Lodge by itself is a fairly nice hotel, the fact that guests can make use of the Fairview Hotel facilities upgrades’ it and raise its overall experience by far.

Staff is very polite friendly and service minded. Without doubt hotel is located at the most secured place in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Nothing above the entrance side, best choice would be higher floor at the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    115
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Country Lodge provides a calm green flourishing environment in the city!
The lodge is well light with natural light and refreshened with well organised vegetation that serves as a habitant to birds which actually welcomes you to the break of day with singing early in the morning.
You cannot afford to miss the delicious meals offered by the Pwani Pool resturant, i enjoyed the rib eye served with often baked potato, spinach sauce and mushroom soup.
Breakfast is colourful and starts you energized for a great day.
It is secured and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The long established and elegant Fairview Hotel with beautiful gardens, décor, fireplaces and charm is literally connected to the Country Lodge so that in some cases the pool area of the Fairview may be closer to some of the rooms in the CL than to rooms in the Fairview itself! Other than the use of the gym and actually swimming in the pool, guests at the CL have full access to all facilities at the Fairview including room charges on their hotel bill (the management of the two hotels is the same). I spent almost all my (hotel) time at the Fairview and used the CL for sleeping purposes. Incidentally, even without the Fairview next door, the CL is an excellent hotel in terms of room amenities, breakfast buffet, service etc. I'm never staying at another hotel in Nairobi as long as they keep up with this level of comfort, service and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed for three very relaxing days in June in the Country Lodge Hotel before beginning a 5 week Overland trip through Africa.
It is a really nice, modern hotel with nice spacious rooms and a good bathroom. I can't believe some of the reviews here complaining about the size of the rooms or the spartan decor, i mean really, who cares as long as it is clean and comfortable... which it is. I also don't understand those moaning about the lack of restaurant - it tells you clearly on more than one occasion prior to booking that you have to go next door. There are four great places to eat at the Fairview and a nice pool, all of which is at your disposal if you stay in the Country Lodge.
The location in Upper Hills is very safe. it is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre. The staff assured it it was safe by day so I trusted them... and I had no problems. Wouldn't do it at night though!I feel the hotel is a little expensive though and it REALLY annoyed me when my phone battery died and I was told I had to pay extra to use the computers in the paltry business centre. This is a disgrace seeing as I was paying over €100 a night, absolute meanness in my opinion.
Still, that's my only complaint. It is a really nice place, very safe and a very good option in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I thoroughly agree with many other reviewers' positive comments about the Country Lodge. The foot access that has been recently added to allow direct connection to the Fairview restaurants next door is a nice improvement, as is the ability to sign your bills at the Fairview and log onto the Fairview wi-fi while you're over there using your Country Lodge access codes.

The working area in my room was large, with multiple power sockets (including a multi-socket for non-UK type plugs) and I found the wi-fi reliable and pretty fast.

Just a suggestion - could coffee and tea be made available on a self-service basis on the 1st floor for the whole day? This would be a nice touch and would cost the hotel very little.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at Country Lodge on two separate nights while in Nairobi for work-related travel. The rooms are clean and have everything one would need, including wireless internet. The breakfast is tasty and abundant, and there is easy access to the Fairview restaurants for those without a car. I definitely would recommend this to other business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Country Lodge is a quiet hotel in a quiet part of Nairobi where you can get very good value for your money. This is in fact the typical no-frills hotel that allows people to lodge in a clean, secure and reasonably comfortable hotel for around €100 each day, breakfast and internet included.
The staff of the Country Lodge is professional and friendly, ready to take care of your needs and attentive towards a guest's requests.
The room itself was quite unremarkable and small in size, with less than adequate closet space for me, since I was travelling with two large suitcases, one of which was in fact untouched during my 17 days stay. Breakfast provided all in all a good number of choices and started early in the morning, so even in case of early appointments/meetings you still have time to grab a bite and go. Internet was generally good, with reasonable speed and solid connection both in my room and the lobby area. The hotel experienced occasional but annoying blackouts during my stay. There is no restaurant in the Country Lodge, but the beautiful sister hotel Fairview, separated by a metal gate activated by the key-card, sports five of them that should satisfy all different requirements.
I think it is fair to say that the Country Lodge delivers, exactly as advertised, a comfortable accommodation for business travellers: if you are looking for more luxury, then this hotel is not the right choice for you and perhaps should try the Fairview, Panafric or Crowne Plaza, just to quote the ones I have noticed or visited nearby. I now live in a serviced apartment, but if I were to choose again a hotel in Nairobi, I'd probably go to the Fairview, which provides that nicer touch for €20-30 more each day, but the Country Lodge would also be the logical back up choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.