We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying at the Fairview but for a Lower Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like Staying at the Fairview but for a Lower Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The long established and elegant Fairview Hotel with beautiful gardens, décor, fireplaces and charm is literally connected to the Country Lodge so that in some cases the pool area of the Fairview may be closer to some of the rooms in the CL than to rooms in the Fairview itself! Other than the use of the gym and actually swimming in the pool, guests at the CL have full access to all facilities at the Fairview including room charges on their hotel bill (the management of the two hotels is the same). I spent almost all my (hotel) time at the Fairview and used the CL for sleeping purposes. Incidentally, even without the Fairview next door, the CL is an excellent hotel in terms of room amenities, breakfast buffet, service etc. I'm never staying at another hotel in Nairobi as long as they keep up with this level of comfort, service and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    109
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed for three very relaxing days in June in the Country Lodge Hotel before beginning a 5 week Overland trip through Africa.
It is a really nice, modern hotel with nice spacious rooms and a good bathroom. I can't believe some of the reviews here complaining about the size of the rooms or the spartan decor, i mean really, who cares as long as it is clean and comfortable... which it is. I also don't understand those moaning about the lack of restaurant - it tells you clearly on more than one occasion prior to booking that you have to go next door. There are four great places to eat at the Fairview and a nice pool, all of which is at your disposal if you stay in the Country Lodge.
The location in Upper Hills is very safe. it is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre. The staff assured it it was safe by day so I trusted them... and I had no problems. Wouldn't do it at night though!I feel the hotel is a little expensive though and it REALLY annoyed me when my phone battery died and I was told I had to pay extra to use the computers in the paltry business centre. This is a disgrace seeing as I was paying over €100 a night, absolute meanness in my opinion.
Still, that's my only complaint. It is a really nice place, very safe and a very good option in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I thoroughly agree with many other reviewers' positive comments about the Country Lodge. The foot access that has been recently added to allow direct connection to the Fairview restaurants next door is a nice improvement, as is the ability to sign your bills at the Fairview and log onto the Fairview wi-fi while you're over there using your Country Lodge access codes.

The working area in my room was large, with multiple power sockets (including a multi-socket for non-UK type plugs) and I found the wi-fi reliable and pretty fast.

Just a suggestion - could coffee and tea be made available on a self-service basis on the 1st floor for the whole day? This would be a nice touch and would cost the hotel very little.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at Country Lodge on two separate nights while in Nairobi for work-related travel. The rooms are clean and have everything one would need, including wireless internet. The breakfast is tasty and abundant, and there is easy access to the Fairview restaurants for those without a car. I definitely would recommend this to other business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Country Lodge is a quiet hotel in a quiet part of Nairobi where you can get very good value for your money. This is in fact the typical no-frills hotel that allows people to lodge in a clean, secure and reasonably comfortable hotel for around €100 each day, breakfast and internet included.
The staff of the Country Lodge is professional and friendly, ready to take care of your needs and attentive towards a guest's requests.
The room itself was quite unremarkable and small in size, with less than adequate closet space for me, since I was travelling with two large suitcases, one of which was in fact untouched during my 17 days stay. Breakfast provided all in all a good number of choices and started early in the morning, so even in case of early appointments/meetings you still have time to grab a bite and go. Internet was generally good, with reasonable speed and solid connection both in my room and the lobby area. The hotel experienced occasional but annoying blackouts during my stay. There is no restaurant in the Country Lodge, but the beautiful sister hotel Fairview, separated by a metal gate activated by the key-card, sports five of them that should satisfy all different requirements.
I think it is fair to say that the Country Lodge delivers, exactly as advertised, a comfortable accommodation for business travellers: if you are looking for more luxury, then this hotel is not the right choice for you and perhaps should try the Fairview, Panafric or Crowne Plaza, just to quote the ones I have noticed or visited nearby. I now live in a serviced apartment, but if I were to choose again a hotel in Nairobi, I'd probably go to the Fairview, which provides that nicer touch for €20-30 more each day, but the Country Lodge would also be the logical back up choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed here twice, in 2012 and 2013: it's an excellent no-frills hotel, great rooms, very clean, excellent wi-fi, great staff, great breakfast, and a direct gate into the fancier Fairview (with lovely gardens and great restaurants). So an excellent hotel for work/business visits, and I guess also for leisure-travel stopovers in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Rooms near the gym may get treadmill noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed there for one night in transit to Kakamega. The hotel was bright and clean. Security was noticeable, but as a new visitor to Kenya, I felt this was interesting rather than intrusive. The reception and breakfast staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was very good with fresh omelettes amongst the good range of options. The room was a very good size for just me and very comfortable. The shower was the best I have ever experienced. I would definitely recommend the Country Lodge. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.