We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not meeting expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not meeting expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The concept advertised by this hotel is that it should provide comfortable accommodation for business travellers at an alleged low cost. Granted it’s clean, bedding is comfortable, there is a large desk with built-in plug adaptors, and staff is friendly. It is also true that it is safe. Because of the proximity of the Israeli embassy, there are all sorts of security check points and gates, but the result is that one feels like living in a prison. Ikea-type furniture and decoration are really minimal and convey an overall impression of cheapness and lack of warmth. Single bedrooms are exiguous (if you have two suitcases they will barely fit in), and there is no proper separation between bathroom and bedroom. TVs are old (no flat screen) and small. I had to complain three days in a row that I had no hot water until it was fixed. The breakfast buffet is OK, but there is no restaurant, and room service only starts at 6 pm, which, if you have to stay working at the hotel, is very impractical. It is also impossible to have a coffee or a tea at the (minimal) bar past breakfast time, and even during breakfast time, outside guests who only want a coffee have to pay a full breakfast package. Business services are minimal and there were problems with the printer and the two laptops, which constitute the whole equipment. One might accept all of this if room rates were really attractive. But for USD 144 per night, this is not the case. As for the location, aside from the restaurants of nearby Fairview Hotel, there are no restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Take a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did discount your room rate for the hot water issue and are sorry we did not do enough to ensure your satisfaction.

Country Lodge is a limited food and beverage service hotel with no restaurants. This is indicated on our website and in every communication during the reservations process. The room rate and the facilities offered are based on good value for money and functionality. Our product offering is consistent with similar limited service hotels worldwide.

However, we are in the process of facilitating easier access to the Fairview Hotel restaurants next door – this should improve the experience significantly.

Perhaps next time try our sister hotel, The Fairview!

Regards,
Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This Hotel advertises itself as offering a single room at prices from 130 usd followed by small print that says the daily dollar rate may fluctuate. However when I came to pay in Dollars it was fixed to the hotel rate of 79 shillings ,they would not accept my dollars at 1130 usd per day face value so my daily rate actually came to 148 usd, even with the best rate in town on the day (83 shillings) it would have been 137 usd. Basically this hotels claim of rooms at 130 usd are false. Also if you do stay there change your dollars outside and pay in shillings, then at least you won't get so badly stung !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubicon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with business colleague for two weeks. We each had individual smallish but comfortable rooms that were cleaned and replentished with supplies daily. Spacious desks allowed stay-in work days. WiFi available throughout hotel. Safe in closet worked well. Showers were strong and had plenty of hot water. Bedding changed upon request. Lunch and dinner available about 100 meter walk away. Location is in safe area with numerous gaurds and road checks in and out. Local taxis that are safe and reasonable available at hotel. Staff outstanding and conversant in English and Kishwahili.

Room Tip: If you require an elevator to upper floor, ask for a room in the "rear" part of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there in my last business trio, my business partner recommended this hotel. Very stylish, I stayed in a single room. Clean, , comfortable . The staff was extremely friendly. The upstairs dining area is also very well designed. Breakfast was decent , they do not have a huge variety but the essentials are catered for. And of course the free wifi is a HUGE bonus especially on business trips to keep in touch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nairobi. There is no restaurant but 20 meters away there are other restaurants you can go and dine at

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August of 2009. A friend who was working in Nairobi suggested the hotel, and we were very happy with our stay.
The location was a bit random- I think it is aimed more for business travelers rather than tourists, but the hotel itself was very clean, felt quite safe, and we had a nice stay.

After trekking around Massai Mara on a dusty safari and a short stay at a really dirty place in Lamu, the hyper-clean room and nice hot shower were a wonderful way to wash away all the dirt before we traveled back home.

Overall it was a good value, and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good for business as well sited. Clean, efficient if a little charmless - though you're not paying for charm right?
Rooms are large and a great desk for spreading and organising work documents.
Beds are clean and rooms simple and clean as well.
Internet is ok and FOC.
No restaurant though room service will deliver and charge to your room for the Fairmont around the corner.

Room Tip: This is a quiet part of Nairobi so room choice is not a huge factor - would however choose the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and great value. Extremely clean and lovely bed. The free wifi is the fastest internet I've used in Kenya (I wish I could get it that fast at home in Kisumu). The breakfast is nice but nothing special. My only suggestion is to include an iron and ironing board. It's kind of essential when travelling for business to have your shirts pressed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.