We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Lodge
2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there in my last business trio, my business partner recommended this hotel. Very stylish, I stayed in a single room. Clean, , comfortable . The staff was extremely friendly. The upstairs dining area is also very well designed. Breakfast was decent , they do not have a huge variety but the essentials are catered for. And of course the free wifi is a HUGE bonus especially on business trips to keep in touch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nairobi. There is no restaurant but 20 meters away there are other restaurants you can go and dine at

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August of 2009. A friend who was working in Nairobi suggested the hotel, and we were very happy with our stay.
The location was a bit random- I think it is aimed more for business travelers rather than tourists, but the hotel itself was very clean, felt quite safe, and we had a nice stay.

After trekking around Massai Mara on a dusty safari and a short stay at a really dirty place in Lamu, the hyper-clean room and nice hot shower were a wonderful way to wash away all the dirt before we traveled back home.

Overall it was a good value, and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good for business as well sited. Clean, efficient if a little charmless - though you're not paying for charm right?
Rooms are large and a great desk for spreading and organising work documents.
Beds are clean and rooms simple and clean as well.
Internet is ok and FOC.
No restaurant though room service will deliver and charge to your room for the Fairmont around the corner.

Room Tip: This is a quiet part of Nairobi so room choice is not a huge factor - would however choose the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and great value. Extremely clean and lovely bed. The free wifi is the fastest internet I've used in Kenya (I wish I could get it that fast at home in Kisumu). The breakfast is nice but nothing special. My only suggestion is to include an iron and ironing board. It's kind of essential when travelling for business to have your shirts pressed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for business travellers, good value for money, very neat, friendly staff, close to the fair view hotel for dining, very secure, however found the rooms to be a bit crammed. Overall very good,will surely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It doesn't claim to be deluxe, but you get an awful lot for your money. My room was big, with a comfortable bed and a large desk. WiFi (free) was excellent - I had two 3-hour Skype meetings without a problem. Garden is small but there are places to sit, both in sun and shade. The two gyms are small but have decent cardio stuff, and I was on my own each time.
Breakfast was fine if unexciting, and it's a short walk to the several restaurants of the Fairview hotel next door.
With guards everywhere because of the Israeli Embassy across the street it felt very safe.
My only complaints were that my kettle didn't work - I only found out on my last day - and the drinks and snacks vending machines only take coins but reception couldn't change a 100 shilling note for me.
Rooms in the annexe block overlook a builders' merchant, so there was a certain amount of early morning noise, but not too bad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As I have said in other reviews, my first criterion for choosing a hotel in Nairobi is location. In the Upper Hill area, the Country Lodge used to provide the very best value for money. Their rooms are spartan (small, one chair, one hand towel, one bath towel, double bed, fan but no a/c), but well equiped for the business traveller - with free wifi and built-in plug adapters. The original section does not have a lift/elevator, but the new annex does. Staff are very friendly. Breakfasts are fine; other meals are served at the Fairview next door. However, since the Country Lodge raised its rates from $100 to (now) $130, the value proposition is no longer as appealing. I prefer spending a bit more for better (although older) facilities at the nearby Silver Springs. If you want to save money, on the other hand, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the new section if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Also Known As:
Country Hotel
Country Hotel Nairobi
Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.