We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and great value. Extremely clean and lovely bed. The free wifi is the fastest internet I've used in Kenya (I wish I could get it that fast at home in Kisumu). The breakfast is nice but nothing special. My only suggestion is to include an iron and ironing board. It's kind of essential when travelling for business to have your shirts pressed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    110
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for business travellers, good value for money, very neat, friendly staff, close to the fair view hotel for dining, very secure, however found the rooms to be a bit crammed. Overall very good,will surely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It doesn't claim to be deluxe, but you get an awful lot for your money. My room was big, with a comfortable bed and a large desk. WiFi (free) was excellent - I had two 3-hour Skype meetings without a problem. Garden is small but there are places to sit, both in sun and shade. The two gyms are small but have decent cardio stuff, and I was on my own each time.
Breakfast was fine if unexciting, and it's a short walk to the several restaurants of the Fairview hotel next door.
With guards everywhere because of the Israeli Embassy across the street it felt very safe.
My only complaints were that my kettle didn't work - I only found out on my last day - and the drinks and snacks vending machines only take coins but reception couldn't change a 100 shilling note for me.
Rooms in the annexe block overlook a builders' merchant, so there was a certain amount of early morning noise, but not too bad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As I have said in other reviews, my first criterion for choosing a hotel in Nairobi is location. In the Upper Hill area, the Country Lodge used to provide the very best value for money. Their rooms are spartan (small, one chair, one hand towel, one bath towel, double bed, fan but no a/c), but well equiped for the business traveller - with free wifi and built-in plug adapters. The original section does not have a lift/elevator, but the new annex does. Staff are very friendly. Breakfasts are fine; other meals are served at the Fairview next door. However, since the Country Lodge raised its rates from $100 to (now) $130, the value proposition is no longer as appealing. I prefer spending a bit more for better (although older) facilities at the nearby Silver Springs. If you want to save money, on the other hand, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the new section if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I regularly go to Nairobi for meetings and on business. I have stayed a number of places over the years and these days settle for one - every time - Country Lodge. Value for money is superb and the service is always first class - from booking through to check-in and the extra's. The rooms are good, without being over-done, they contain all you need in a good room - desk, bed, tv, nice shower etc.

They have two gyms, both well equipped. The machines are always in good order and the place is clean, air-conditioned and well maintained.

You can order food to your room from a room service menu or go next door to their sister hotel Fairview (a real favourite hotel also but a little more expensive) for a great meal. The breakfast buffet is always excellent.

Free internet is provided and is generally of a reasonable standard (for Africa).

Great hotel for the business traveler and completely consistent and reliable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What you get at the Country Lodge (CL) is superb for the price you pay. I have stayed at a number of hotels in Nairobi but this is my number 1 choice. Breakfast is superb, staff and helpful beyond belief and the whole experience is just great. Very modern minimalism decor. If you like frilly "chince" style or a 1930's "colonial experience" CL is not for you. This a business hotel that offers a high standard of accommodation at a very sensible price, ideal if you are a responsible business traveller or are paying the bill yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The accommodation is reasonable, basic but it has everything you need. I love staying here when I come to Nairobi for work (although if I came with my family I would stay elsewhere). The showers have the BEST water pressure, the rooms are clean, breakfast rocks, and you have the Fairview right next door to dine at!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.