We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great place and in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great price, great place and in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great place for a few nights business trip. In Upper Hill so near the World Bank and DFID. Clean and simple rooms and staff were very sweet and helpful. Rate was reasonable for Nairobi and for the facilities. The hotel has no restaurant but have a delivery service and the sister hotel The Fairview is a 2 minute walk. Last time I was in Nairobi I was car jacked and robbed of all possessions on my way to airport so don't travel with all your goodies in one place! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Book early as heavily booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    112
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is pretty decent for business travellers. The wi-fi is a little spotty at times but overall it's fine.

Keep in mind you're not in London or Seoul, and can't expect things to be quite the same. (My review is relative to other hotels in Africa, not relative to similar properties in Europe or North America.)

The CL is cheaper than the Fairview next door, so you can stay at CL and enjoy the dining at Fairview while saving a bit of money. Rooms are clean and the property is safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Country lodge is the small sister-hotel of the excellent Fairview Hotel in Nairobi. Since the latter of often fully booked, Country Lodge provides a cheaper, good value-for-money alternative. Rooms are comofrtable and clean, although occasional power problems happened a few times during my one-week stay. Wi-fi quality is quite alright. Breakfast is small but sufficient, fresh fruit is provided. The best things about the Country Lodge are its gym (very well equipped!) and its immediate proximity to Fairview, with its different restaurants and serene atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the partner hotel to the Fairview, which is often completely booked up. It's perfectly good - pleasant breakfast, reliable WiFi, clean and airy with friendly and helpful staff. It doesn't have a restaurant on site but you can use the Fairview restaurants (fabulous) 100 metres away. It's also very secure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Plus Points:

1. Very Secure
2. Behind Fair View Hotel so all kinds of food available and also great location
3. very good clean rooms, good breakfast, wifi
4. Value for money
5. Bet option for business travellers and those looking for few days acco.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Accommodation is spacious, built to a high standard and very clean.
WiFi internet available in rooms and large desk also in room.
Very pleasant place to stay with ultra-high security.
Walked 100m down road to a wonderful restuarant overlooking a huge pool.
Had one of the best meals of the trip there and the cost was very reasonable.
Quiet area and safe, so highly recommended

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be of similar standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We decided to downgrade to this Lodge on our tour package to help save some money. We basically only needed a place to sleep our 1st night and near the end of our trip(another night).
We were very pleased with our decision as the staff was very friendly and breakfast very good. Our last night they only had a room with 2 double beds and apologized and offered to push them together. We were exhausted and this was not an issue at all. We just wanted a clean, friendly place to stay. We felt safe as there was a gated security and guard. Available coffee maker in room which was appreciated as 1 of the mornings we had to depart @ 5:30am and breakfast is not available that early. The reason for only 3 circle rating is that both times we stayed there were only towels for 1 and no box of kleenex. These are items that should have been in our room and we should not have had to call for. Because of the time of night/am we did not feel comfortable calling to rectify the situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.