We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Country lodge is the small sister-hotel of the excellent Fairview Hotel in Nairobi. Since the latter of often fully booked, Country Lodge provides a cheaper, good value-for-money alternative. Rooms are comofrtable and clean, although occasional power problems happened a few times during my one-week stay. Wi-fi quality is quite alright. Breakfast is small but sufficient, fresh fruit is provided. The best things about the Country Lodge are its gym (very well equipped!) and its immediate proximity to Fairview, with its different restaurants and serene atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the partner hotel to the Fairview, which is often completely booked up. It's perfectly good - pleasant breakfast, reliable WiFi, clean and airy with friendly and helpful staff. It doesn't have a restaurant on site but you can use the Fairview restaurants (fabulous) 100 metres away. It's also very secure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Plus Points:

1. Very Secure
2. Behind Fair View Hotel so all kinds of food available and also great location
3. very good clean rooms, good breakfast, wifi
4. Value for money
5. Bet option for business travellers and those looking for few days acco.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Accommodation is spacious, built to a high standard and very clean.
WiFi internet available in rooms and large desk also in room.
Very pleasant place to stay with ultra-high security.
Walked 100m down road to a wonderful restuarant overlooking a huge pool.
Had one of the best meals of the trip there and the cost was very reasonable.
Quiet area and safe, so highly recommended

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be of similar standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We decided to downgrade to this Lodge on our tour package to help save some money. We basically only needed a place to sleep our 1st night and near the end of our trip(another night).
We were very pleased with our decision as the staff was very friendly and breakfast very good. Our last night they only had a room with 2 double beds and apologized and offered to push them together. We were exhausted and this was not an issue at all. We just wanted a clean, friendly place to stay. We felt safe as there was a gated security and guard. Available coffee maker in room which was appreciated as 1 of the mornings we had to depart @ 5:30am and breakfast is not available that early. The reason for only 3 circle rating is that both times we stayed there were only towels for 1 and no box of kleenex. These are items that should have been in our room and we should not have had to call for. Because of the time of night/am we did not feel comfortable calling to rectify the situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good free wifi and excellent breakfast. Other restaurants nearby. Adjacent to Israeli embassy, so security is very high. Nice place, much better value than Hilton (where I stayed previously).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

In a city filled with 70s era hotels trying to be modern (or very expensive new hotels), the Country Lodge is a nice departure. I've stayed at at least 5 different places in Nairobi (including the InterCon), and this is my Nairobi hotel of choice. I first stayed 3 years ago and it's only gotten better. It's clean, has everything you need, and the modern aesthetic is a nice departure from the usual. Sure, you need to walk down the small lane to the restaurants next door, but it's not a big deal, and they do room service. Note there is no elevator (at least in the part I stayed in) but the staff will help you bring your bag up. Breakfast is definitely better than most other Kenyan hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list