We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, modern friendly hotel for working in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple, modern friendly hotel for working in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Country Lodge has got a good package for business stays in Nairobi, Everything works well, staff are friendly and on the ball.
It doesnt have lunch/dinner menu but you can use the co-owned fairview next door (would be a real good move if you could charge from Fairview to your CL room tab but afraid you cant do that).

Rooms are elegantly simple, pleasing and all the important things are there - a kettle and plenty of sockets, including a mix of UK nad continental sockets by the desk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    112
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in the country lodge for 3 nights for a business meeting last week. The hotel was very comfortable, good breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms and all normal amenities (practical gym!). Well priced too. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Country Lodge about half a dozen times in the past three years. So long as the price doesn't increase it will remain my preferred choice in Nairobi. The Country Lodge is pretty simple but solid.

I like the rooms, especially the good-sized desks.

The gym is good although they should get rid of the automatic air fresher - I don't think breathing in those chemicals is good for my lungs (I don't care if the gym smells a little like a gym).

Breakfast: very fine.

Dinner: they don't offer this but I go for sushi at The Fairview next door.

So long as they don't increase the price (at least not very much) and I will keep returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a simple, clean hotel with sparing amenities. There is no restaurant, although they do serve breakfast. The room was nice, but nothing remarkable. The location is great - in a very safe area.

The reason I can't give it 4 or 5 stars is mostly because the hotel is cheap in ways that are surprising. There is no tissue box in the room. There is no hair dryer in the room. There is no shower gel, just a tiny bar of soap presumably meant to be used both for the sink and the shower. I had to go down to the front desk for more soap, and to borrow the hair dryer. Also, even though there were two of us staying, they only gave us one key card, so I had to ask for another. If they just fixed these things, this hotel would get my 4 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently spent three separate one-night stays at the Country Lodge and was very happy with the accomodations. The rooms and decor are basic, with clean lines and blond wood. The showers are excellent with hot water and plentiful pressure. My rooms were all on courtyard side so it was quiet even with the windows wide open for ventilation. Cleanliness is excellent. The breakfast is plentiful and served in a very nice dining area. Having the Fairview's restaurants right next door is very convenient. Service was kind, though perhaps not as outgoing as it could be. Returning for my second and third stays I was offered a warm welcome back, however. And I was thoroughly surprised on my third stay, which happened to be my birthday, to be presented with cake and a card. This was a very unexpected and thoughtful touch and really made my day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Modern, clean, comfortable hotel. No air con so if you are travelling in the summer, might be a little uncomfortable but perfect for travelling in August. While not as cheap as it once was, well priced by Nairobi standards and neighbouring Fairview hotel provides good eateries for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The stay was a stop over for safari.
Good clean arrangements .
Very vacation hotel, no locals , only people on holiday.
Lovely kind people, gracious and helpful.
No place to eat had to leave the hotel for dinner, nice breakfast.
Nice air flow, I was there after the rainy season, and it was a cooler season, probably gets too hot during summer with no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.