We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean efficient and a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New, clean efficient and a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The facility is very new and the rooms were small, but very efficient. I never felt cramped and it is a fine value, given other alternatives in Nairobi. It is located out of the city center which relieves some of the traffic pressure, as that is a major consideration in Nairobi. If you are there on business, you need to be able to get out to one of the exterior roads to move about.

You have to walk about 100 meters to the Fairview Hotel for food during the day and evening hours. Breakfast is included and they provide omlettes to order, fresh fruit and juice along with cereals, etc. Good coffee as well.

The laundry service was reasonable, for a hotel.

The staff were pleasant, however I must say they were somewhat reserved in providing their servcies and I felt a bit uncomfortable with their interactions. I think that could use some work.

Overall, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    112
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Country Lodge for a week on a getaway break from the UK. All was booked at the last minute over the internet, so naturally our expectations were not high. Upon arrival we were checked in with the minimum of fuss by efficient reception staff. Once in our room we were pleasantly suprised at how fresh and clean everything was. My only real criticism was that the TV was so small I had to sit on the end of the bed to watch it, even with my spectacles on. The buffet breakfast offered a varied menu and was excellent value for money. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Next to the Fairview, but with lower rates this is a great place to stay if Fairview is full or too much for your budget. Nice clean rooms, excellent location and you can order food from a menu from the Fairview, which makes for good room service. This is my favourite for business travel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaisir
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Visiting friends I hadn't seen for years, I spent one night and was very surprised, everything is perfect in this hotel, it really looks like new, modern fashion, very kind staff, also the possibility to pay by credit card.
Situated outside the noisy and busy city center, very quiet, very clean, excellent breakfast and very good WIFI net, particularly in the bedroom. I strongly recommend this hotel and I will certainly return in this place if I had to go back some day to Nairobi.
Bedroom was very clean, comfortable bed, plenty of place for laptop and different AC sockets on the wall, there are some good restaurants at walking distance, didn't have the opportunity to test the swimming pool.
Thank you all the staff from Country Lodge Nairobi !! Hope to see you next.

Gerard

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions, the first after 24+ hours of travel. This was a very comfortable and quiet place to catch up on lost sleep.

The hotel is a great place to escape the hassles of the city. Very peaceful atmosphere in nice surrounds. Rooms were modern and very clean.

The included breakfast was worth five stars. For other meals you need to walk 100 m down the road to the fairview where there is a choice of restaurants.

Free Wi-Fi.

Probably more suited to business travellers.

Room Tip: We had the same room on both stays, overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I travel to Nairobi ~4 times per year, and I frequently stay at the neighboring Fairview Hotel so I had high hopes for the Country Lodge. I was disappointed to find that while they do offer breakfast, there are no internal restaurant options for lunch or dinner. When I travel for work, I like to have easy access to restaurants or at minimum a good selection of room service options, since I work late into the evening and don't want to bother with a cab to go out. At the Country Lodge, you can have (usually cold) room service food brought over from the Fairview, or.... nothing.

I also found a burgeoning infestation of fleas on my visit. Tiny baby fleas all over the floor. I expect that i was just in-between sprayings though, because the hotel otherwise appears very clean.

Some people do like the Ikea-esque aesthetic, but I thought it felt cheap. Coupled with "eh" service, difficulty finding food, teeny tiny bugs, and a small room, it's among my least favorite hotels in Nairobi. I much prefer the Fairview, or even the Panafric if the Fairview is full.

If you are traveling for business, the only positive thing I can say about the Country Lodge is that the desks are spacious and the internet is free. For the price, one can do far better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countrylodge, Owner at Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Country Lodge is a limited food and beverage service hotel with no restaurants. The room rate and the facilities offered are based on good value for money and functionality for a business traveler. Moreover, if one is looking for a full service hotel, then one needs to pay a full service rate! Our product offering is consistent with similar limited service hotels.

As for the fleas, we are at loss since our collective memory does not recall an infestation of fleas in our rooms. Cleanliness ranks high as one of our strong selling points and feedback on Trip Advisor is a testimony to this.

Country Lodge has been in existence for the last six years and we operate at full occupancy daily. It has continued to grow due to its value proposition which created demand necessitating addition of another 40 rooms- and the demand still grows!

We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

Regards,
Mark | Joint Managing Director | Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed the Country Lodge last year. I am a single female from Australia and was initially worried about staying in Nairobi alone. But the hotel has great security. I never once felt unsafe. Taxi's wait outside the hotel so no need to walk to far. There are restaraunts down the road (1min!) to eat at if you don't want to travel to far.

The rooms were so clean and modern! Plenty of room, bathroom clean and no issues at all with shower/water ect (i had just come from Nakuru where i had not had a hot shower in 2 weeks!)

There are plenty of options on TV, also a small gym, and lovely gardens to sit in at the hotel.

Great value for money and close to lots of things to do in Nairobi.

Breakfast has lots of options, all fresh.

Very good communication prior to my arrival- they were happy to answer any questions i had through email.

Only drawback was i woke in the middle of the night and had a mosquito bite about 5cm in diameter on my leg! But that did not bother me to much...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.