We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, modest, well loacated and very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“clean, modest, well loacated and very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I have stayed here a few times. The rooms are very basic, but clean and serve the purpose of simple no frill accommodation. Breakfast which is included is very good, but no other meals offered or provided. However they are in grounds of the more expensive Fairview which has a number of restaurants to chose from.
Security is excellent and being next to the Israeli Embassy, this is probably the most secure location in Nairobi. Close to the city centre, this is a good choice for any visitor to Nairobi, who wants excellent value for money and can live without the usual amenities, room service and lounges offered by 4 and 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: I like the ground floor as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    109
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
42
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Country Lodge is situated behind another, higher scale hotel called the Fairview. Country Lodge is very modern, has wireless throughout, and has just enough amenities to manage a 1-2 week stay due to it's proximity to the Fairview. I found the staff to be very professional and accommodating throughout the course of my stay.

I stayed in two different rooms, one was much larger than the other, but both were very clean and comfortable. The smaller one would have been a little too small for two people but was fine for just one person.

The hotel provides a daily breakfast which I found satisfying - custom eggs/omelets were available and there was a decent selection of fruit in addition to toast and cereals. The breakfast area stays open throughout the day but doesn't serve food past breakfast time, and eventually turns into a small bar in the evenings. The Fairview is an easy walk from the Country Lodge and has 5 restaurants to choose from on their property for lunch/dinner/drinks.

The Country Lodge is a reasonably priced, efficient, clean and well organized hotel for those not requiring a lot of bells and whistles during their stay in Nairobi. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

After 16 days in Africa, a nice night to relax before a flight home.. Chose the Country Lodge, after it's sister hotel - Fairview - was fully booked. It's fantastic. Christine on check-in dealt with me promptly, in a polite and efficient yet still personal and friendly manner, also sorting me out an airport transfer for the following morning, with advice on how long I should leave before my flight etc.

The rooms are large. Lots of space, desk for the business traveller, free wifi (A bit patchy at times, but on the whole, a stable connection), and a very comfortable bed, TV with clear signal and a fan to keep you cool when needed. The only downside was the shower could be described as tepid at best. Having had 2 weeks of cold showers, it wasn't a problem but was a small disappointment.

Breakfast in the morning was a treat. I hadn't eaten that much in the morning for a long time, and everything was cooked or chilled to absolute perfection! Beautiful!

Checkout was swift, again by Christine, followed by a comfortable transfer to the airport. Her timings were absolutely spot on, and I arrived at the time I expected.

If I was in Nairobi again, I'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I chose the Country Lodge while traveling for business with my husband.

It's centrally located, near the downtown area, which makes it easy if that's where you need to be. Security is fairly good as you are next door to the larger Fairview and just around the corner from the Israeli Embassy.

The beds are super comfortable and the little extras - free wifi, large desk space in the room, valuables safe, small bottles of water provided each day, and a small, but nice gym - make it easy to go about your business, without a lot of worry or hassle. Not to mention a back-up generator, which was very useful due to frequent power cuts. And very clean! The free breakfast is one of the best I've found in this price range. There is no restaurant inside the hotel, however, so for lunch and dinner the closest option is the more upscale Fairview...otherwise a bit of a walk or taxi ride.

The staff were very professional - while our room was not ready upon an 8 pm arrival, the situation was corrected by the offer of a late check out on our departure date...which we opted for! The mini-business center is a little pricey, especially for a place that advertises itself as suited for the "biz traveller" and the electronic keys at the gate often didn't work, but otherwise most other aspects were ideal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Country Lodge is located next to Fairview, the famous Nairobi hotel. Both hotels are owned and operated by the same company. The neighborhood is secure. The CL lobby is clean and stylish, the common areas are very sensible and friendly, and the service staff are excellent and helpful. The rooms are modern in design, a bit small, but comfortable. Plumbing, appliances, and electronics all functioned properly. The breakfast staff was great, and the food choices were varied and excellent. While they don't serve dinner at Country Lodge, the Fairview has four excellent restaurants only half a block away. Taxi transportation and access is convenient. This is a restful place for business or pleasure travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

second time staying at country lodge. great rooms, breakfast area and food. staff second to none. could not ask for anymore and very secure since i was traveling to safari on my own. i will be back!!!
on a side note.....jimmy kamau, hotel based taxi driver is the best and will show u a good time. love him

Room Tip: have stayed in 608, 611 and 612. 611 overlooked courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

-Hotel is pretty basic but comfortable, clean and quiet. Price a bit high for what you get, but given this is Nairobi, it is not over the top. Internet included in room rate, which is a big plus to me. The gyms (2 of them) were very nice.
-Location very quiet and safe.
-Customer service is excellent! Hotel is very upfront and professional in how they deal with customers.
Negatives:
-Breakfast was one of the most basic I have seen in Nairobi - very limited variety.
-My room had no AC (for usd 105/night), which is fine at night (Nairobi is pretty cool), but in the afternoon could get rather warm and uncomfortable (was facing the west). Taxi drivers chatting outside the gate were loud, so opening the window was not pleasant either.
-No independent restaurants in the vicinity; the 3 advertised nearby restaurants are actually all in the next door Fairview Hotel (which is apparently owned by the same folks). I tried 2 of the 3, food was above average, but very expensive (expect to be $20-30 lighter in the pocket for a decent meal).

Room Tip: Request a room facing the East, away from the gatn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list