We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail, including security” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Attention to detail, including security”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Attention to detail produces a great guest experience. Everything was incredibly clean and well-organized. Decor of hotel is light and airy. Security seems excellent (I had to use my card key 5x to get to my room--2 outside doors, 2 hallway doors, then room); Israeli embassy is across the street so soliders with AK47 on patrol outside. No a/c in room but I never even used the ceiling fan. Went to Fairview Hotel for meals. Power failed a few times, but generator kicked in immediately. Rather than sit in a taxi for an hour in a traffic jam, I walked up from the shops in University District below the hotel, only took half an hour. Free wireless in room worked well, called home using skype with no problems.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    113
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
37
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed here for our one night in Nairobi. Country Lodge is literally next door to the Fairmont, so security is good and we felt very safe. For dinner, guests are directed to the Fairmont's restaurant. We ate at the main indoor restaurant and would happily recommend it for a high-quality meal with good service. (Great steak frites.) The breakfast included in the Country Lodge was generous- fresh fruit, pastry, and made-to-order omelettes (although served with a bit of standard attitude). The rooms were clean, concierge was nice, free wifi available. All in all, good quality, worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Great Place - Very clean, modern and comfortable. Free wifi a bonus!

Good selection of restaurants next door in SAFE walking distance with great food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Room was large with large beds clean sheets and towels and loads of electric sockets. Shower was hot - had to turn heat down. Short walk to City centre but seemed long way when carrying heavy bags. Breakfast was great with cereal, cooked food , croissants etc. Only thing to watch is the internet cafe was expensive and the cost shown on the screen was only a fraction of the actual price so watch your time if using it. They did tell me the price beforehand but it did seem a lot when I came to pay. Otherwise everything was fine felt safe and all staff very pleasant. Tea/coffee making facilty in room.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed one night with my girlfriends 6 year old daughter, who was added as a last minute due to a change in plans. The hotel made sure I got a twin instead of a single or double, and check in was simple - tho there was a bit of a wait - not the hotels fault the guy in front was having difficutly paying with his cards. (I did keep an eye to see if they would start huffing - but they were very professional and understanding).

Really the only thing I can fault with this hotel is it's name. It gives the impression you'll be staying in a log cabin, surrounded by wildlife. It should be called something like Highlife as it's actually a ultramodern, city/business, style hotel with spacious rooms, large HOT powershowers, free wifi that works most of the time. Some of the rooms (including mine) do over look a park - giving a country feel. For a city location it's fairly quiet. The main requirements for me in this type of hotel are : Can you hear traffic - NO, can you hear other guests coming and going - NO, can you stay cool - YES, can you get to the city quickly - YES. Can you get to restaurants and shops easily - YES. So a Pass. I'll write a review of the Fairview Restaurant separately! :-(

Actually - I do have one little complaint - when you are paying circa £100 a night for a room, why do they insist on giving you a thimble for a juice glass? (Rant over). The rest of breakfast was nice with a selection of cerals, breads and fruits available and a chef who'll knock you up an omlette - make sure you include chilli ;-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed at the Country Lodge on a recent trip. I found it clean and quiet for a very reasonable price. It was nice to have the breakfast included in the price. Staff were approachable. Rooms were spacious with a good walk-in shower. Large work-top with plenty of power point. Wi-Fi internet access was free, reception will provide user id and password. There is a drinks and snacks vending machine just off the lobby.
Minor things that disappointed me were, the TVs are small 14" ones which are stuck on a shelf and you have to wave the remote around to get the TV to change channel. There are no newspapers in the hotel, so you have to go to the Fairview next door just to get a paper. Check out is 10am which leaves a very long wait if your flight out is 11pm at night. They would only give me an extra hour for late check-out. I was told the bar closes at 10pm, so I would usually go out somewhere else for a drink.
As I say these are minor issues compared to the saving on cost of a good clean room with breakfast and internet access..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hey there,
We stayed there on a few occasions last year as a base from which to do trips from/to Rwanda, Masaii Mara and Tanzania.
It was a fantastic place to come to after these trips where we had all the modern comforts and were close to the shops etc we required for the next stage of journey. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The breakfast fantastic. Check out the hotel next door for lunch and dinner. What a treat! The area is extremely secure. Make sure you do not get a room above the Gym as the early morning treadmillers can do your head in!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 2nd Ngong Avenue | Upper Hill, PO Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country lodge- Nairobi's most popular limited service hotel(bed and breakfast). It has eighty four rooms designed for the business traveller with unbeatable rates that offers true value for money without compromising on service delivery and comfort. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. Located in Nairobi's upper hill, the hotel provides a peaceful, quiet and safe environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.