We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese cuisine the Good old fashioned way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong
College House, Koinange St, city centre, Nairobi, Kenya
228612
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chinese cuisine the Good old fashioned way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I know this restaurant for a few decades and had dinner there recently with a few colleagues,
the place had not changed its decor nor its food quality along the years, and as such is a very unique place for very good no nonsense chinese cuisine,,,,.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    0
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Seychelles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Chinese Cuisine in the middle of Africa !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My memories of this place date back many years (30) maybe and when visiting Nairobi we always try and make it a must to visit. Yes the place could do with a make over and probably a bit dark inside like some family run restaurants in Hong Kong, but the food has always been very very good and that's what you go for to eat good Chinese authentic cuisine. Service staff are average but friendly. We also used to make it a must to visit the Hong Kong in Mombasa which was run by same family and food equally as good if not better probably in a nicer setting and building. A shame the one in Mombasa at the Bamburi/Nyali turn off is closed now but not sure if the 3rd sister restaurant in downtown Mombasa is still open. All three did excellent Chinese mandarin cuisine !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unanimous Suggestion From Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There was very little question by the locals we asked about the best Chinese or Thai food in downtown Nairobi (Could be a limited number of options, not sure). They all suggested Hong Kong (Chinese/Cantonese). It was walking distance from The Norfolk, our hotel. Our entire party was VERY pleased with their meals and we almost went back for lunch the following day, but decided we needed to experience other foods. Did not expect to find Asian food this good in Keyna, very impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

When in town, it's in a nice and not too noisy corner right in the middle of town. Not too sure what opening times but chanced, I liked the service and food.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Kenya and all about
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great food,terrible service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Driving around the city centre ,we stumbled across this place.Old decor,deep carpets,slighlty musty interior,only two other tables ocuppied when we arrived.Staff reluctant to leave their huddle by the kitchen area.Ordered and the food was surprisingly good,really couldnt complain.Staff carried on lacklustre approach for more drinks.Paid the bill and didnt get any change back,im assuming the assumption was,i would give it anyway.Requested it which resulted in a great show of looking for it.Absolutely terrible behaviour.Guess alot of westerners get ripped off like this.Great food from an average looking place,nice and quiet but the staff just ruined the experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.