We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shame” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
9 West | Westland, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 4447494/4450349/ 0733576630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I went here with colleagues, and therefore didn't want to kick up a fuss. Had I been there with friends, I would have asked them to bring out the chef and eat some of the steak I was served himself. Somehow (newly lit barbecue?) it tasted of paraffin, and that was compounded with a taste which I would associate with marinading steak in washing up liquid. It was virtually inedible. The food that the others had looked great, and the focaccia I had as the first course was perfectly acceptable, so I guess it's just that I drew the short straw. The atmosphere of the place was good, the service friendly.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    36
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very professional food services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I liked the ambiance, the food tastes good and its value for money. If you want exotic foods then this is a good place to hoose from. The car-park was at that time a challenge but they have added more car parking slots. I only wished it could have been bigger in terms of sitting space but again that is an infrastructural challenge

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner with special friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Nice restaurant... very busy.. always a good sign! I had a steak with some wild mushroom sauce which was really good. The chips were a little oily and not being one to leave chips on my plate I have to say I did on this occassion. However the fillet and muchshroom sauce made up for it as did the breads on the table.
The waiter was a little clueless about the wine though and tried to tell me that Four Cousins was an Italian wine!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average food, above average prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Mediterraneo is a classic in Nairobi. They have several restaurants, which I believe all have the same menu.
The menu does offer a lot of options and should cover every tastes, and the quality of food remains the same over time- average, this is. Nothing tastes terrible, but it is not spectacular either, which is a bit of a problem considering they keep increasing the prices.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Need to be rich to get good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Used to visit this restaurant frequently.. They became successful.and service started going down. The owner or head chef who previously used to work started at the Italian Restaurant got to know most of his customers. Worked out who is rich etc etc and started giving preferential treatment. I don't accept this. Also the quality of food has gone down. I have stopped going there. Even when I am invited by friends, I refuse to go. There are other better Italian restaurants is Nairobi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
 
 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.