We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely ambience and awesome service......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
9 West | Westland, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 4447494/4450349/ 0733576630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
mumbai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely ambience and awesome service......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 NEW

The food portions are big and delicious. The ambience is relaxed, charming and relaxed. I had a great time and am looking forward to my next visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    27
    21
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The pizza was good...nice thin crust”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The food was okay-good. The wine was expensive but it seems to be all over Nairobi. Wish we had known how large the pizzas would be, we could have shared - but we gave 4 boxes of pizza for our driver to take home. The salads were just okay. The service was a bit slow but we were not in any hurry. We sat outside under the awning. Overall, I would return but probably not order wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food, slow service, overpriced wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went to Mediterraneo with a bunch of friends. I was really looking forward to some italian food. I think I ordered Ravioli. The food was good but not extraordinary. The atmosphere is also really nice. Unfortunately the service was very very slow this evening. It was quite packed, to be fair but we waited really long.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great service repeat visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Had hoped to get in on the current meal offer they had advertised but found out it is only offered during the week, holidays not included. Bummer, but we went ahead and got the full Mediterraneo restaurant experience.
We had a lovely waitstaff, attentive and polite, not overbearing.
Ordered a tropical salad which had too many pineapples for my liking. Point to note for next order, hold on the pineapples. Was beautifully presented on the plate and a size able portion. My company had medium rare steak with mushroom and herb sauce with a side order of vegetable salad. This was made to perfection. Was quite refreshing as we ordered this warily hoping it'd be better that the last we had. Note; medium rare is the way to go. Was succulent and spices blended in beautifully.
Had one of the mocktails with lychee juice,mint, refreshing. The red wine my friend had, cannot recall the name unfortunately was full bodied and had delightful accents to the taste buds.
Dessert, tried the Tiramisu, all I can say is it was lovely! With a dark chocolate mini cupcake that was nice.
Also tried a boozy coffee, was also enjoyed to the fullest.
The bathrooms however were a let down, need to have a regular spruce up due to their high number of clients during meal times. It is quite a popular restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

That restaurant is simply the best Italian restaurant in Nairobi with very nice ambiance wither at lunch or at dinner. Pasta is the best in their variety there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.