We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Ristorante, Westlands

Mediterraneo Ristorante, Westlands
9 West | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
254733576630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Description: Mediterraneo Ristorante at 9 West is a sophisticated dining option in the heart of Westlands, featuring custom Italian furniture, classic Vespa scooters and a stretch of stunning Fornasetti wallpaper. An impressive venue for business meetings and casual meals at any time, it is our only branch that serves breakfast and stays open till late. Mediterraneo is dedicated to creating an authentic Italian dining experience, with traditional dishes, exclusive imported wines and a uniquely genuine atmosphere.
nairobi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“magnificent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very generous tasty portions, good pricing, excellent food presentation especially for the salads and cosy for aromantic dinner.

Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really good italian food. Good , efficient service. Branch in Westlands is quite big and modern whereas Gigiri one is more cosy and Italian feel to it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing seriously wrong...but not much right either ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Westland Mediterraneo reminds me of the neglected third child...it does live up to the expectations of anyone who have visited the two older sisters.
I had read the reviews (not great) and been advised by friends to skip it...but I wanted to give it a chance. Well...the place is kind if a hit and miss when not comes to everything ..,service, food...you name it.
First the ambiance...not sure how to describe it, but it is more suitable for a breakup dinner than a romantic first date. Whoever was the architect is to blame...the person had probably never dined out of home.
Service was ok...nothing very memorable but polite and correct

Food - my starter...smoked salmon cones...was very good. But then again it is difficult to go wrong with smoked salmon. My friend had a grilled vegetable salad which was also good.
My main was the chef's special suggestion - octopus stew. Way overcooked, was like chewing a tire. The veggies were ok. My friend had tilapia with a pesto sauce... It was either frozen or old, definitely not up to standard.
Nairobi is full of great restaurants, and unfortunately the Westland's Mediterraneo is just a filler in the list ... with plenty of choice there is no reason to go back. Based on the number of tables filled I think my view is shared by others. That said, I have no hesitation to recommend the other two sisters - Mediterraneo Junction and Village Market.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Second home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family likes this restaurant and frequents it a lot. However despite us loving the restaurant, the food may not be wowing us that much anymore. Maybe we are used to it now? Thier Pizza is still in my opinion one of the good ones in Nairobi. Thier Lasagna portions seems to have shrank and tastes a bit different not sure if it's a change of chef or cheaper and ommitted ingredients but its still ok. I tried some vegeterian lasagnia at thier restaurant at the Junction but when I ordered it at thier restaurant in Westlands it was not the same so maybe they dont have standard recipes or ways of cooking certain dishes. Generally thier entrees are ok. We like it though because it's familiar, most of the staff recognise us and it feels like going home. Thier prices are average. Sometimes the waiters seem overwhelmed and if you are a bit of a rush can be frustrating. We have had dinner here for special occassions and never regretted it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Menu - Expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

They now have a new Menu - n they ve removed all my favorites from the older menu: No Tomato Soup, No Margherita Salad. Prices are higher too...

Ambience is Excellent; however, food isn't as good as it was in their old Westlands Branch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Ristorante, Westlands also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo Ristorante, Westlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Ristorante, Westlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.