We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defenitely a must visit for chinese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spring Garden
James Gichuru, Nairobi, Kenya
348558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 340 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Defenitely a must visit for chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my first visit to Spring garden.I wanted to go for new year dinner but the place was not open till 12.00 .So we went after new year.The decor is simple .There is a bar right in middle of the restaurant.We tried golden fried prawns,chicken fried rice and noodles.One more chicken dish we ordered cant remember name though.Basically I loved the food there,must visit for Chinese food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I like the fact that you can really taste the ingredients and not the sauces.
Unlike a previous reviewer, I did not find that the onions were overpowering, so I guess it's all about personal taste.
Also, the staff is friendly, and super nice to children!
We enjoy going there when we want a simple dinner with the kids. They also have take-out!
The atmosphere is definitely not romantic, and not the restaurant's strong point.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Ythe food is very authentic good portions and service is good Must try the fish

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bland & Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I read some reviews online but was disappointed by the food (the price tag was also not a bargain and compared to other better restaurants).... with the ambiance not being much, I expected the food to at least hit some high notes but While the food was fresh all we could taste was salt and onions through most of the dishes. It will definitely not be a repeat performance for myself and family!!! VERY DISAPPOINTING CHINESE ..tasted like food court variety.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid Chinese Food in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have been to Spring Garden for dinner and lunch many times over the past year. It is a solid Chinese restaurant, serving fresh and well-prepared Chinese-style food. The service has always been consistent, with friendly wait staff and management paying attention to the customers' needs. It is nestled away in a small house complex and patrons can eat inside or out.

I like the spring rolls and wonton soup for a starter. I have also gotten the fish soup and dumplings, which are also delicious. Sweet and sour chicken is always risk, because it gets soggy from the kitchen to the table, but their portion doesn't suffer the same fate and it is delicious. I would also recommend the chicken wings as well as the sizzlers - your choice of chicken, beef or prawn - and lo mein-style noodles.

They have small private rooms for private parties and I often see regulars there on weeknights and weekends, which is encouraging. Getting your Chinese-style food fix is tough in Nairobi, but Spring Garden makes it a little easier.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Garden also viewed

 

Been to Spring Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.