We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food but Low Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furasato

Furasato
Karuna Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 317 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Food but Low Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have gone wit my wife to have Lunch one Saturday in November 2013. The food was good and tasty. The price are not bad though we have ordered two different meal names with big price difference we had the same plates!!! The waiter was not able to explain few things in the menu but I guess it is one of the best places to dine in at Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    20
    28
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rocket Man”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I can't quite recall when I visited in 2012 but I found myself booked into the Nairobi City Hospital for the next three days. A marvellous, large and inviting sashimi boat was spoiled by the addition of some advocado wrapped puke inducing fish. Put it in mouth, instant yuck, spat out, still spent next day losing great amounts of weight out of each orifice. Still cheaper than a colonic irrigation at bev hills finest.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went here with a group and ordered a variety of food. The boats of Sushi were beautiful to loo. At and disappeared quickly. The tempura and udon dishes were also enjoyed. The menu is extensive and has a good variety for different tastes including the vegetarians if our group. The restaurant has nice decor, good parking and our service was excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The worse quality fish I have ever had. Yes, even in Nairobi!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Furasato last evening and my stomach is still complaining! Their tuna was brown in color and when brought this to the manager attention. He said "this is tuna from Mombasa and this is the color." I guess the bad sea odor from tuna was also from Mombasa!
Their salmon didn't taste anything like salmon, which has a distinctive taste even when it is not so fresh!
Their tuna avocado salad was basically rotten tuna buried under avocado. Even this didn't help one not to taste the bad tuna.
As for their crispy, spicy salmon roll, Hmmmm, tasted like some wiered Chinese sweet and sour dish! Pretty disgusting I have to say. Again the string spices did not help not to notice the old Salmon.
Let alone the rest of the experience at Furasato.
My suggestion is that in Nairobi stick to what you know is fresh and good. Specially when you crave decent sushi in a land lock city!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tepanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely Japanese Restaurant with plenty of parking.

The tepanyaki was great with a very stylish chef - meat and vegetarian food was coooked separately.

The tempura and sushi are very good. Great Bar too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furasato also viewed

 

Been to Furasato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furasato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.