We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocket Man” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Furasato

Furasato
Karuna Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rocket Man”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I can't quite recall when I visited in 2012 but I found myself booked into the Nairobi City Hospital for the next three days. A marvellous, large and inviting sashimi boat was spoiled by the addition of some advocado wrapped puke inducing fish. Put it in mouth, instant yuck, spat out, still spent next day losing great amounts of weight out of each orifice. Still cheaper than a colonic irrigation at bev hills finest.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went here with a group and ordered a variety of food. The boats of Sushi were beautiful to loo. At and disappeared quickly. The tempura and udon dishes were also enjoyed. The menu is extensive and has a good variety for different tastes including the vegetarians if our group. The restaurant has nice decor, good parking and our service was excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
“The worse quality fish I have ever had. Yes, even in Nairobi!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited the Furasato last evening and my stomach is still complaining! Their tuna was brown in color and when brought this to the manager attention. He said "this is tuna from Mombasa and this is the color." I guess the bad sea odor from tuna was also from Mombasa!
Their salmon didn't taste anything like salmon, which has a distinctive taste even when it is not so fresh!
Their tuna avocado salad was basically rotten tuna buried under avocado. Even this didn't help one not to taste the bad tuna.
As for their crispy, spicy salmon roll, Hmmmm, tasted like some wiered Chinese sweet and sour dish! Pretty disgusting I have to say. Again the string spices did not help not to notice the old Salmon.
Let alone the rest of the experience at Furasato.
My suggestion is that in Nairobi stick to what you know is fresh and good. Specially when you crave decent sushi in a land lock city!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tepanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely Japanese Restaurant with plenty of parking.

The tepanyaki was great with a very stylish chef - meat and vegetarian food was coooked separately.

The tempura and sushi are very good. Great Bar too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“5 star forever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I automatically fell in love with this food! There service and atmosphere is great and there food is just absolutely amazing! I loved the spicy samon and the California Maki sushi! Also the miso soup and sticky rice -- + try the lunch box! It's amazing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furasato also viewed

 

Been to Furasato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furasato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.