We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse quality fish I have ever had. Yes, even in Nairobi!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Furasato

Furasato
Karuna Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 327 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The worse quality fish I have ever had. Yes, even in Nairobi!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Furasato last evening and my stomach is still complaining! Their tuna was brown in color and when brought this to the manager attention. He said "this is tuna from Mombasa and this is the color." I guess the bad sea odor from tuna was also from Mombasa!
Their salmon didn't taste anything like salmon, which has a distinctive taste even when it is not so fresh!
Their tuna avocado salad was basically rotten tuna buried under avocado. Even this didn't help one not to taste the bad tuna.
As for their crispy, spicy salmon roll, Hmmmm, tasted like some wiered Chinese sweet and sour dish! Pretty disgusting I have to say. Again the string spices did not help not to notice the old Salmon.
Let alone the rest of the experience at Furasato.
My suggestion is that in Nairobi stick to what you know is fresh and good. Specially when you crave decent sushi in a land lock city!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tepanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely Japanese Restaurant with plenty of parking.

The tepanyaki was great with a very stylish chef - meat and vegetarian food was coooked separately.

The tempura and sushi are very good. Great Bar too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“5 star forever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I automatically fell in love with this food! There service and atmosphere is great and there food is just absolutely amazing! I loved the spicy samon and the California Maki sushi! Also the miso soup and sticky rice -- + try the lunch box! It's amazing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hit the sushi spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived close to the end of the lunch hour but they stayed open for us ("because of the kids"). It was everything we were missing! Great sushi and would definitely go back when we visit Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A safe bet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'll start off by saying that my wife believes this restaurant is a Five. I, on the other hand, think its a 4. I'll start with the positives. 1) It's has a fairly large menu and it can be vege friendly. My wife, who is a vegetarian, tends to like their vege sushi and vege box, 2) the items are executed fairly well. Nothing overly sophisticated on the menu, so they get the basics rights, and 3) the service is a big plus here. A very attentive staff can make a big difference!

There are a few reasons why I believe his place is not a Five: 1) The menu is pretty standard, nothing "wows" you, 2) the place is a bit dated inside and could use an upgrade, and 3) I wish they varied the flavors of their teppanyaki (like most places, they just use one sauce).

Overall, I do recommend visiting Furasato. We think its the best Japanese restaurants in Westlands. My wife and I are frequent visitors, just wish sometimes they would take it up a notch with regards to the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furasato also viewed

 

Been to Furasato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furasato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.