We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 605933
Update restaurant details
Ranked #27 of 302 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun & Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our last day in Nairobi & our trip organizer reserved a good table for us, right beside the indoor gardens. This is definitely a fun place to go: beautiful surroundings, customers expecting to have a good time, prompt efficient service, and monkeys in the trees that come down & steal the buns from the serving stands! The salads & condiments were attractively presented but of course the highlight was the large selection of skewered, freshly roasted meats that servers kept bringing to your table. You could say "yes please" for a taste or "no thanks!" (which I did for the crocodile) until you remove the flag from your table & admit defeat. Everything well cooked. Everything clean & served with flourish. Nice washrooms. A bit 'touristy' for me - but hey, we're tourists so just enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    334
    417
    231
    106
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meat and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were a group of six, were greeted with enthusiasm and had a great table. There was a wide variety of meats, prepared over an open fire pit, including several exotic meats. Crocodile and ostrich were that days' exotics. It is similar in format to the Brazilian style skewer service. A fair wine selection, and the local Tusker beer is worthy of a try. Great service, a necessary stop when in Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“As the Name Implies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A wide variety of proteins delivered, carved and served tableside until you "raise the white flag", indicating that you can't take any more. Fine dining it is not, but it is fun and unique.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for Meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 10 dine for lunch at Carnivore. The service was superb and the food was well prepared. The restaurant operates in a "Brazilian" fashion with all the food you can eat. The local specialty meats were excellent; including crocodile, ostrich, bull testicles and others. Don't be afraid to try them if you can, they are all tasty. The salad is safe, purified water is used to clean the veggies. This was one of the best meals we had in Nairobi, even though it is sort of a tourist place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprised by quality of vegetarian/pescatarian options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is solidly a meat eaters place, but I went as part of a larger group excursion as part of a Conference. I was pleasantly surprised by the number of options they offered to non-meat eaters, and was pleased with the quality of the tilapia dish I ordered -- delicious. The entertainment was fun and encouraged the many shy members of our group to get out and dance. The servers did have this way of silently shunning/disapproving of the vegetarians -- they took away the 'steak' knives and forks at the table, and replaced them with a 'regular' fork and a butter knife. That would be my only complaint -- otherwise I'd recommend this. And I'm sure all the carnivores really love it :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.