We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very meaty... great evening...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very meaty... great evening...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

On the final day of a father-and-son safari in Kenya, we went to Carnivore and were very pleased. The serving staff were great... they explained all the wonderful details of the dining experience, from drinks to various parts of the meal, including the all-important meats. Two hours later, we were sated... thanks for a great evening not to be missed in Nairobi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    530
    279
    117
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All you can eat meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This restaurant is very much like going to a Brazilian Steak house with some unusual meats. I tried crocodile and ostrich which were pretty good but had to pass on the beef balls. The best meats were the beef and the turkey especially when topped with the African sauces. It was a fun experience in a beautiful setting but it is not like eating prime aged beef like we have in the US.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good fun, great ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went for dinner on a weekday and the place was packed. There was a mix of locals and tourists, all in celebration mode, which filled up the place with a positive, energetic vibe. We decided to sit outside and it was truly enjoyable. I echo other comments with regards to the meat, that it can range from good to plain bad. We liked the ostrich and beef, and did not care much about the crocodile (had better in Zambia), and did not like the turkey at all. As a tip, avoid the carbs that they'll serve you to fill you up before the proper food comes (i.e. Meat): we were served a corn soup (which was quite salty) followed by chips and other fried food...nice try Mr Carnivore, but we're there for the meat
Overall a fun place to go, a top choice in Nairobi

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Meat galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had a lunch stopover during my day visit to Nairobi. Plenty of meat - it's all about meat as the name implies. But, as they clearly say, they dont have exotic meats anymore. The only odd ones at least for me where ostrich and crocodile
Meats ranged from nice - chicken liver to OK - beef and downright bad - turkey
They give a salad and bread yo start with which was good. The sauces that go with the meats are very nice
Overall, a good experience - but its pricey - will work out to 40$ pp incl tax and tip :(

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, great service with friendly staff and awesome meet. We had a great time and literally ate all we could, including trying some interesting stuff, but nothing beats the steak in my humble carnivore opinion :)
Good prices if you are foreign, obviously it was the most expensive meal we had in Kenya but totally worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.