We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant with a Difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 355 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Restaurant with a Difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The restaurant has unique appeal of ethnic style food and ambience.Mainly for non vegetarian items directly served from the huge oven (4-5 metre in diameter) to your plate made of iron (I suppose). The restaurant and sitting style all look ethnic. Service is quite unique with a style that I have never seen elsewhere. Food will be served until you put the flag down (a symbol to notify the waiter that no more food should be served on your plate). You get all items chicken, beef, mutton, crocodile meat, ostrich eggs etc. to name a few. No good food for vegetarian people unless you accompany the non vegetarian guest. Hats off services with smiling staff. Must for any people visiting Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    645
    344
    131
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Must-go place in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Amazing place, unforgettable experiance, have visited after our safari. Taxi from Nairobi center to restaurant and back 35 USD, buffet USD 42 + drinks. The place for meat lovers, ox balls were delicious! Must visit place in Nairobi!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A perfect local experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The restaurant is amazing, starting from its location, to the deco, ambience and so on. It's big and it's always full, however it doesn't really matter cause there is enough staff around taking care of you. They have a massive variety of meet including quite exotic ones. Very tasty and well cooked. The cocktails are also top and it was really amazing. Would go again and again to get a feast from the beast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great for Carnivores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was part of my safari, so I happily joined in the traditional fun. But, as someone who doesn't eat that much at buffets and especially not a lot of meat, they made a fair amount of money off of me. I really liked the ostrich meat... the ox balls? Blah!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is an amazing spot to meet the real life of outing in Kenya, i went to carnivore after my Safari, Joseph the professor in guiding due to his sights during game drives of Lipi adventure, told me its worthy a visit just at extra dollars

You don't need to book in advance you can pop in a taste the true taste of Kenya barbecue, its all about game meat dance and meeting and seeing different cultures collected together for an evening time to be spent

I liked it and i really recommend it its worth they payment we paid with my wife

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.