We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 345 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is an amazing spot to meet the real life of outing in Kenya, i went to carnivore after my Safari, Joseph the professor in guiding due to his sights during game drives of Lipi adventure, told me its worthy a visit just at extra dollars

You don't need to book in advance you can pop in a taste the true taste of Kenya barbecue, its all about game meat dance and meeting and seeing different cultures collected together for an evening time to be spent

I liked it and i really recommend it its worth they payment we paid with my wife

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    627
    329
    131
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just for the sake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was taken by my guide when we got back from safari in Kenya, to me it had nothing to do with any input except just to have been at Carnivore, the place is crowded and everything seems commercial.

The place doesn't have the peace one would like while away from home looks like anytime anything bad can happen, i would just advice people to go there just because they wouldn't feel well wel not to have been there but its not worthy all the fame

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everyone told us that if we were going to Nairobi at all then we MUST got to Carnivore. I'm sure in its heyday when you could eat more exotic meats and actual game, it might have been but to be honest it is nothing more than a glorified BBQ restaurant. It definitely felt "down at heel" and in serious need of some painting and freshening up. Too much of a tourist trap for me. Reasonable value for money but I'm sure there are much better restaurants in Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you visit Nairobi this is a "must" place; the Carnivore is quite far from downtown (it is better to take a taxi). This is a restaurant where it is literally possible to eat any kind of meat you would possibly imagine, included crocodile! This is an "all you can eat" kind of deal; therefore you should come here with a big appetite and possibly skip lunch. Service impeccable, meat accompanied with many different sauces and salads, jacked potatoes and a very nice soup. Desserts included in the price are also very good. A special mention goes to lamb, pork ribs and...Crocodile!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Certainly not up to the hype. The salads were a joke and drinks fairly pricey.
As for the meats, most were good but the croc was so heavily salted it was inedible.
The whole thing feels like a bit of a tourist trap and there are certainly better all you can eat meat places in Nairobi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.