We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everyone told us that if we were going to Nairobi at all then we MUST got to Carnivore. I'm sure in its heyday when you could eat more exotic meats and actual game, it might have been but to be honest it is nothing more than a glorified BBQ restaurant. It definitely felt "down at heel" and in serious need of some painting and freshening up. Too much of a tourist trap for me. Reasonable value for money but I'm sure there are much better restaurants in Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    513
    273
    116
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you visit Nairobi this is a "must" place; the Carnivore is quite far from downtown (it is better to take a taxi). This is a restaurant where it is literally possible to eat any kind of meat you would possibly imagine, included crocodile! This is an "all you can eat" kind of deal; therefore you should come here with a big appetite and possibly skip lunch. Service impeccable, meat accompanied with many different sauces and salads, jacked potatoes and a very nice soup. Desserts included in the price are also very good. A special mention goes to lamb, pork ribs and...Crocodile!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Certainly not up to the hype. The salads were a joke and drinks fairly pricey.
As for the meats, most were good but the croc was so heavily salted it was inedible.
The whole thing feels like a bit of a tourist trap and there are certainly better all you can eat meat places in Nairobi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice variety and the food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was included in my safari so I don't know the cost but it was definitely a fun experience. I was started with soup and a loaf of bread followed by a salad and potato and then as much meat as I could eat. I has lamb three ways, beef and chicken two ways, pork, ostrich and crocodile. I think the ostrich meatball was my favorite meat but the absolute best part of the meal was the pineapple cake which was one of the best hings I've ever eaten. I definitely plan to go back on my next trip to Kenya.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Absolute Must Do!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had planned this for our last night in East Africa for me & my son both lovers of fine food & especially meat. We were not let down!! You have the option of eating from a fixed menu for around $17-$23 or the all you can eat Viva Brazil Style for $33. The cuts of meat are brought round to your table where a selection of sauces has been placed. A red & green flag system operates to inform waiters whether you have enough food currently or not. The waiter will tell you which sauce goes with which type of meat & a bowl of salad is also placed on the table. The drink prices are not much more than in the bars in Nairobi 200 for a soda & 400 for a tusker. The atmosphere is enchanting with an open outdoor area aswell as a large indoor area, with parties of more than 20+ eating together while we were there. The staff are pleasant & welcoming getting out the bongos to sing happy birthday to customers. A sign on the table informs you that contrary to popular belief the meat you are eating is not from wild animals as this has been against the law for some years now. The restaurant is between the city center & the main international airport. We got a taxi from the town center for 1200 with the intention of getting a taxi from the restaurant to the airport after the meal. Fortunatly for us the restaurant manager was going there so gave us a lift - nice gentleman & a lovely wife.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.