We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Was worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had heard about the Carnivore for ages - and finally managed to make it last evening. Ambiance was good, service excellent and the quirks of the restaurant quite the thing: the circular pit barbecue, the waiters in zebra aprons, the Dawa man with his tray of 'Dawa' cocktails, etc. etc. Again - a light breakfast with no lunch is advised for folks planning to visit this restaurant. They give you a nice tray of condiments and salsa and salad and a fine half-loaf of home-baked bread - but these are incidental: it is meat that is central, almost unlimited and excellently cooked. Be warned - the name says it all, so if you are a picky meat eater or a vegetarian - you are wasting money and time going to this place! I loved it and would like to come back before all the blood values change! Special tip: they have ox testicles - grilled on the menu and these are really very, very good - so please don't miss them! Also - never forget to use the garlic sauce with the crocodile - it brings out the taste of the meat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    609
    321
    127
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hocking Hills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The sweeteest barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great haven for meat lovers but too much for the least meat takers. If you are a vegetarian, then this is not the place for you as roasted meat smoke is much to handle. It was a nice experience for my wife and I as we enjoy barbecues. The pork spare rib was the sweetest for me and crocodile the worst taste.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This restaurant is not my style. Very large, very crowded and very touristy,

The concept is similar to Brazilian grills, croc (which tastes like fishy chicken) being only exotic item on the menu. Meat servings are unlimited, wine choice poor and expensive. Once crossed out on a To-Do list, no reason to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For meat lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We knew this was a touristy place but worth a visit for meat lovers. My husband who loves meat enjoyed a lot. Personally I found everything was too hasty and they just wanted us to eat in a hurry and be finished. Too much meat for me and not enough "other stuff" . The restaurant is nicely laid out and was very busy when we got there, but it was after nine in the evening and soon it was more quiet. The staff were friendly and polite. However it was a bit touristy for me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good experience but the food is not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Carnivore is a great experience but I have to say that the food is not amazing. The grill pit for the meat is a great photo opportunity and the experience of trying crocodile, ostrich, goat etc is very interesting (as well as the 'normal' meaty options). I must admit the 'Ox ball' was a step too far and had to be quickly washed down with some excellent Tusker beer!

Definitely go but don't expect the most amazing meat you have ever had; for that head to south american (Brazilian, Chilean etc) charcuterie steakhouses which do the concept much better (although with less interesting meats!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.