We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really enjoyed having my dinner there with my friends ..... Very friendly environment with kind of Traditionally African theme
And different toes of game meet

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    518
    275
    117
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tourist trap?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I found this restaurant to be so-so. I guess they have grown too popular - service is efficient but impersonal. The food was fine but the whole experience feels a bit like a staged show.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

food, and soooo much of it.
Excellent value for money. Vegetarian's beware, as the name suggests, this restaurant ISN'T for you.
So much meat of different variety. Ostrich steaks, Camel Hump, Crocodile to name but a few! And your usual chicken, Beef, and Pork.
Only downside it is a bit touristy but don't let that put you off

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in Kenya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I had the best time at the Carnivore restaurant in Nairobi! The food was delicious, and plentiful. I think my husband tried every kind of meat they had! I personally enjoyed trying meats that we don't get in San Francisco, like crocodile and ostrich. Both were tasty! The service was impeccable. Oh, and don't miss the Dawa - this medicine man will mix you a tasty cocktail or three! I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits Kenya. It's appropriate for a large family gathering or a romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must for those on safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

what a fun and well designed restaurant. A feeling you are entering an African village restaurant with meat carvers and people creating drinks tableside. We enjoyed all of the food, the atmosphere and the outstadning staff. Bernadette was a trainee who did a great job educating us on the food, the sauces and what was the best dessert . Francis, was attentive and kind and we really enjoyed all of the energy of the staff. Everyone works so hard to make it an enjoyable experience. Great end to a fantastic trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.