We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going stale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Going stale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not much has changed over a long while. It's great if you like meat and want to sample different varieties. Also good for a night of dancing at the Simba saloon but a lot has remained the same. Good for first time visits, gets old with time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    503
    272
    114
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The trip notes said "you'll either love it or hate it". I didn't lean either way, but felt it is certainly overrated and very very expensive by Nairobi standards (over $50US with a couple of drinks). There was supposed to be an endless supply of fresh cooked meat - whilst there was a reasonable variety it was (generally) either overcooked or 'blue', it was slow to come, you had to ask to get a reasonable serving. Really nice bar, fantastic atmosphere, and a great dance floor.
However, most of the group I was with agreed that it was not good value for money and the food rather ordinary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meat Eater's place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant is amazing, we have seen different pricing range on tripaddvisor before we go, but we were a group of 8 people, we payed around 30$ each, and we ate until we couldn't move.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A cool experience, touristy of course, but well worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I came here with a big group of people after we got done a Safari. I had heard about this place of course but it stopped selling most game meat a long time ago. It is basically an africanized brazillian steak house. It has an indoor and outdoor seating arrangement and the whole place is pretty cool. The atmosphere is really cool as well. They brought us out starters for our main course of samosas which were excellent. The also offer you a nice mixed drink to "open up your appetite" but we found out later it only opens up your wallet! Then they have gigantic trays of sauces which are all great. The servers come around with different servings of meat and tell you which sauce goes best with it. They have your beef, chicken, pork, etc which all taste amazing. They also come around with crocodile which was pretty decent, ostrich meatballs, which I could have eaten 50 of put it was like pulling teeth to get more, and then ox balls, which I didn't have! I know, I'm a wuss. I think it was the equivalent of 33USD which is not bad for the whole experience. The hard part is getting out there. We organized with our hotel to bring us out at 2000 shillings per car which isn't too bad because they waited for us the whole time. I would go there again absolutely and if you are in Nairobi you should definitely try it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for meat lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second visit to this restaurant after 20 years. I did try some of the wild meat like antelopes 20 years ago. But this was banned in 92/93 where you can't hunt for these wild animals and get them into your stomach anymore.
Nevertheless, I love this restaurant as the atmosphere was very nice once we entered. The big BBQ grill station captured every visitors' attention. We were in a organised tour. The set lunch consisted of salad, bread and soup, followed by different rotation of grilled meat including beef, pork, chicken, ostrich, crocodile, then beef, pork ....
There was a small flag in each table. You can just put down your flag when you think you have enough as a carnivore, otherwise they will keep coming besides you and slice the meat on your plate until you surrender.
Don't forget to complete your meal with a genuine Kenyan coffee:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.