We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine people still fall into this Tourist trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Can't imagine people still fall into this Tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Food is still very average, Dawa's still watery, but it seems that it remains the tourist place to eat Bush meat, with eth waiters walking around proposing you krocodile, chicken, ox tail, water buch etc. I was trapped into taking some guests who refused to leave Nairobi, without having been there. I had not been in 6 years and it still does not give a decent price/ quality ratio to me either, but guests were happy...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    604
    319
    127
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 244 cities Reviews in 244 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“An must for meat lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Been there ounce
Need to take a taxi out from centre
Cheap taxi though
Great atmosphere and lovely to watch the rotating meats on the spits
Very good beef crocodile and other meats
It's set up as an all you can wat Brazilian type restaurant
You need to prompt the waiters a bit though to bring you the expensive meats rather then the sausages or chicken hearts!
Fairly good value
Definitely I will return when in neirobi again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go for the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ate better food in Nairobi but some of the meat was delicious. In any case, I love restaurants that offer something different and Carnivore definitely does. The waiters walk around with all kinds of exotic and some normal meats. I got to try ox tail, ox, and crocodile for the first time. More food is always available to you and the staff makes you feel welcome and love to crack jokes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great meat. A little gimmicky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here as part of a tour of Kenya. Meats overall were good, though the lamb chops were so tough I couldn't cut them. Side dishes were just OK. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic african bushmeat and ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went with my daughter and three friends to lunch there on our way in from Mombasa. It was very interesting. They serve you a variety of meat like chicken, turkey, ostrich , pork, lamb, crocodile and ox balls!! All on huge skewers fresh off a huge grill at the entrance to the restaurant. There is African drumming and music playing. It is a huge place fit for large groups. I must also mention Dr Dawa who served us A drink called DAWA, which he mixes with Gin or vodka and tastes really nice though I had to water it down as it was rather alcoholic in content! It tasted and looked rather like a Mohito. All in all it was a pleasant experience and they keep serving you till you can eat no more and put the flag on your table face down. I will definitely go there agin if I am in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.