We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An must for meat lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 204647
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“An must for meat lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Been there ounce
Need to take a taxi out from centre
Cheap taxi though
Great atmosphere and lovely to watch the rotating meats on the spits
Very good beef crocodile and other meats
It's set up as an all you can wat Brazilian type restaurant
You need to prompt the waiters a bit though to bring you the expensive meats rather then the sausages or chicken hearts!
Fairly good value
Definitely I will return when in neirobi again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    366
    480
    259
    112
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go for the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ate better food in Nairobi but some of the meat was delicious. In any case, I love restaurants that offer something different and Carnivore definitely does. The waiters walk around with all kinds of exotic and some normal meats. I got to try ox tail, ox, and crocodile for the first time. More food is always available to you and the staff makes you feel welcome and love to crack jokes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great meat. A little gimmicky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here as part of a tour of Kenya. Meats overall were good, though the lamb chops were so tough I couldn't cut them. Side dishes were just OK. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic african bushmeat and ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went with my daughter and three friends to lunch there on our way in from Mombasa. It was very interesting. They serve you a variety of meat like chicken, turkey, ostrich , pork, lamb, crocodile and ox balls!! All on huge skewers fresh off a huge grill at the entrance to the restaurant. There is African drumming and music playing. It is a huge place fit for large groups. I must also mention Dr Dawa who served us A drink called DAWA, which he mixes with Gin or vodka and tastes really nice though I had to water it down as it was rather alcoholic in content! It tasted and looked rather like a Mohito. All in all it was a pleasant experience and they keep serving you till you can eat no more and put the flag on your table face down. I will definitely go there agin if I am in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meatastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The meat was amazing and the ambiance is great. The value for money aspect leaves a little to desire as the service was lacking in the personal touch really. It will remain on my list of places to go as soon as I arrive in Nairobi again though!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.