We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our fourth time returning to the Carnivore - we never tire of it. We love the atmosphere (it's fun!), and we love to try all of the meat they bring around with all of the salsas on the table. We also really enjoy the salads they have, each year they seem different.
Most of the time we have to raise that white flag before we have tried all of the meats, but we HAVE to save room for dessert and that delicious Kenyan coffee!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    553
    302
    124
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

on an extensive African holiday, I deliberately stopped in Nairobi so I could take my partner to Carnivores in Nairobi. I had been there many years before and had been enthralled by the range of game meat and the exciting venue at that time.
Well... it's changed.... but the cost hasn't!
We received the cuts of meat at our table from time to time but it was very ordinary and often tough.. There was no wild game ie zebra, kudu, antelope, warthog etc..... all the exciting tastes I had tried before.. We were told by the waiter that "the government does not allow us to serve those meats anymore" Fine. But we and the people on the next table had still been expecting it. The restaurant's reputation is built on it.
It still cost a lot of US dollars for a very ordinary meal of chicken, beef, ostrich and crocodile.
We were very disappointed by the experience. It's not worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This felt like a definite tourist trap - seemed very over priced - we sat somewhere that was cold and draughty and had little atmosphere. However, other parts of the restaurant looked better. Probably still worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had previously visited 15 years ago and it appears the restaurant has gone down hill in every aspect, it is now just one large tourist trap prior to people leaving for the airport !!! You only have to arrive to see many minibuses parked outside and large tables inside with tourists from all over the world to realise this would be very average...

I had been advised it is a set menu and to avoid the tasteless soup, bread then arrived which I could have played golf with it was so hard and stale...I ordered two different wines of which neither were available and was given the house wine which I would have struggled to put in the lawnmower !!!

A hot plate arrived followed by a baked potato and mixed veg which was very overcooked...various meats than appeared at the table carved onto your plate - you are also given different sauces and told which goes with what and on the bottom layer are salads and additional side orders which looked as though they had been sitting their for days and with a long flight ahead these were certainly to be avoided...I declined pudding and received the bill which was exortionate for the quality of food !!

Overall, a terrible experience and I would avoid at all costs !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More hype and atmosphere than great food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great concept restaurant. The bar-be-que meats which kept coming were mostly great, though lacking in the exotic save some ostrich and crocodile. Some of the meat felt like it could have been marinated longer. While the atmosphere was great, prices were steep. Paid a little over $100 for a meal for two ( including one vegetarian) - and what felt like a rip off was that haf that cost was for the dawa or vodka cocktail they keep serving at your table! Definitely worth a one time visit, though stay off the dawa unless you want a hole in your pocket!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.