We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 204647
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great experience, but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The setting is great and the food was okay...t's not everyday you get to try crocodile. However, it is really pricey and if it's meat you're after, Fogo Gaucho is better value. A hallmark on the tourist circuit though so you may need to take your out of town guests just so they can say they've been there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about Carnivore. We try our best offer a unique experience to all our guests and obviously do not quite live up to your expectations for which we apologise.
We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    353
    457
    247
    111
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“First time to Nairobi? You must experience the Carnivore Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have taken groups to experience the Carnivore Restaurant many times. This is a very unusual restaurant. It's not the usual fare and I'm not going to spoil the surprise. Besides the cuisine, the atmosphere and entertainment is unforgettable. When I was there, I didn't feel like it was a "tourist attraction". As I am writing this, the pictures in my mind are so vivid.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review about The Carnivore.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your positive remarks which will be shared with our staff, who will be inspired to maintain the high standard of food and service.
We look forward to welcoming you and your groups back to the Carnivore in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best grilled meat in kenya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We passed by for lunch from the national park.

A first impression of the Carnivore restaurant would most likely be its design. As you walk into the building, you immediately get a sense of the ambiance from the roof height and grill, to the decorations. On the matter of service, food was served in less than 45 minutes from when we ordered. service was top notch, both my husband and kids really enjoyed themselves

The ambiance is thick with African culture and music, and the quality of the food is very good.
This is a great restaurant by anyone's definition and one we would be more than happy to visit again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Carnivore

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the ambiance, quality and level of our service.Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff,who will be motivated to maintain the high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The real thing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm from Texas USA and we know a little bit about meat. If you are looking for a light snack this is not the place. If you are looking for a real MEAL, look no further. The cuts of meat are excellent, well prepared, and all you can eat. The variety of meats is wide and more than enough tasty sauces to make this HUGE meal a huge success. Deserts and drinks were just right. This is the best meal and the best eating experience I have had in any of the 9 African countries and 30 cities I have visited. The price is well worth it. While more than half of those dining were probably not from Nairobi, this did not feel at all touristy. Service was personable but did not get in the way. The atmosphere is perfect for the venue. I can’t wait to get back and this time I will bring even more friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review about the Carnivore. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience thought it was the best eating experience you had had in 9 African countries you had visited. Knowing how Texans like their meat we are overjoyed that we lived up to your obviously superior expectations. Our staff will be truly motivated and encouraged by your remarks and will try even harder to impress!
Many thanks once again for taking the time to air your feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back with more of your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There's no doubting this a tourist trap. With that said, the overall "experience" is fun - it has a very cool atmosphere, but the food doesn't cut it. The meat was not very tasty and overcooked, so the whole all you can eat thing doesn't go very far. The worst part for me was trying to eat my bland steak while the guys walk by with the novelty crocodile skewers and ox testicles.. so that was filling my nostrils. It's not like I'm always in Nairobi.. but I wouldn't eat there again. Expensive too. Meh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Carnivore. We are sorry you think the restaurant is 'a tourist trap' and of course most visitors to Kenya like to experience the Carnivore, but 65% of the people who eat at the Carnivore are Kenya residents! We are sorry that it did not live up to your expectations and that you were disappointed by the experience and found the meat not tasty, overcooked and expensive. We try our best to offer our customers a unique meal and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations for which we really apologise and assure you corrective measures have been taken to improve our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.