We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The real thing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm from Texas USA and we know a little bit about meat. If you are looking for a light snack this is not the place. If you are looking for a real MEAL, look no further. The cuts of meat are excellent, well prepared, and all you can eat. The variety of meats is wide and more than enough tasty sauces to make this HUGE meal a huge success. Deserts and drinks were just right. This is the best meal and the best eating experience I have had in any of the 9 African countries and 30 cities I have visited. The price is well worth it. While more than half of those dining were probably not from Nairobi, this did not feel at all touristy. Service was personable but did not get in the way. The atmosphere is perfect for the venue. I can’t wait to get back and this time I will bring even more friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review about the Carnivore. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience thought it was the best eating experience you had had in 9 African countries you had visited. Knowing how Texans like their meat we are overjoyed that we lived up to your obviously superior expectations. Our staff will be truly motivated and encouraged by your remarks and will try even harder to impress!
Many thanks once again for taking the time to air your feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back with more of your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    530
    279
    117
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There's no doubting this a tourist trap. With that said, the overall "experience" is fun - it has a very cool atmosphere, but the food doesn't cut it. The meat was not very tasty and overcooked, so the whole all you can eat thing doesn't go very far. The worst part for me was trying to eat my bland steak while the guys walk by with the novelty crocodile skewers and ox testicles.. so that was filling my nostrils. It's not like I'm always in Nairobi.. but I wouldn't eat there again. Expensive too. Meh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Carnivore. We are sorry you think the restaurant is 'a tourist trap' and of course most visitors to Kenya like to experience the Carnivore, but 65% of the people who eat at the Carnivore are Kenya residents! We are sorry that it did not live up to your expectations and that you were disappointed by the experience and found the meat not tasty, overcooked and expensive. We try our best to offer our customers a unique meal and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations for which we really apologise and assure you corrective measures have been taken to improve our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Way to Much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am sure this restaurant is a big tourist trap! Anything you have seen on the Savanna is there to eat. We tried mostly everything and they just kept coming with the food. That was a week ago and I haven't had meat since! Guess I would rather take pictures of it when it is alive!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Carnivore. We are really puzzled as to when you visited the restaurant and ate what you saw on the savanna', because if you had eaten at the Carnivore in the last eight years you would have realised that the Government of Kenya banned the culling and serving of game meat including all the savanna wild game. We are therefore forbidden to serve wild game except for ostrich and crocodile. In addition you may think the restaurant is 'a big tourist trap' and of course most visitors to Kenya like to experience the Carnivore, but 65% of the people who eat at the Carnivore are Kenya residents!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gimmicky Tourist Trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Before going to Kenya I read everywhere that I had to go to Carnivore while in Nairobi. That being said, I was excited to experience the place.

Their schtick is to serve you all kinds of exotic meats on skewers in unlimited amounts. It doesn't stop coming until you put the sign down on your table.

First thing, don't fall for the "Magic Stick" drink. As soon as they seat you a hostess will come over with a mixologist and offer you the drink. You are led to believe that it is included in the price. It isn't. It's a ripoff.

Secondly, yes you can have as much as you want, but since the meat is overcooked, bad cuts, you don't want much.

There are many great restaurants in Nairobi -- skip this one!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Carnivore. We apologise that it did not live up to your expectations and that your were disappointed by the experience. We try our best to offer our customers a unique meal and we continually evaluate our performance, but obviously did not satisfy your high expectations and that you felt you had to give us such an awful review. We apologise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went in April with work colleagues and was very disappointed. While the lamb and pork were good, I could eat that at home. Ostrich and crocodile were the most "exotic" items on the menu. A tourist trap.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.